*Winning* the lottery

So, I forgot to mention that I was sick all day Friday last week. I guess I just thought I had a flu that had run it’s course. Thursday night I started to feel really tired and by the time I went to bed I had a slight fever and was feeling achy. Friday, more of the same, but by Saturday morning I was feeling a lot better and got up and went on with our Canadian Thanksgiving plans. By late Monday night, when I woke up just before midnight I was starting to wonder what on earth was going on. The fever was gone, and the aching body was gone, but I had sore eyes, a couple of tender lumps on my head and a rash all over my body.

Turns out I won the Dengue Fever lottery.
After one of the team members that was here looked at me yesterday morning and suggested that’s what it was (because she’d had it) I came and did some reading online and sure enough – all the symptoms matched, right down to the aching eyes and swollen lymph nodes on my head. Yesterday I looked crazy with this red flat rash over my entire body except my face. It was only moderately itching, which I’m thankful for. Today it’s on it’s way out. I had always anticipated that Dengue would be horrendous, so I’m super thankful I got a milder case of it.
And chalk that up to one more thing that I never thought I would experience.
Carmen is here. It’s so fun. She brought lots of treats. She grew up as a missionary kid in Peru so she totally “gets it”. I love that. We’ve just been visiting and showing her around a bit. I’m going to go take a nap and she’s going to go enjoy the beach a bit. There may be some Catan playing later today.
The dental and heath clinic that we spent Monday and Tuesday hosting for our workers and our families was a smashing hit. Chris and I wanted to try and really organize it well which can really go either way on you. It either works, or it doesn’t work. Horribly. People are used to just showing up first thing in the morning, around 6 am, then waiting all day to have their number called. We had our workers put everyones names on a list, and then we gave everyone a time slot and asked them to show up a bit early – in case the nurse and dentist got ahead. Which really means we wanted to have people here on time. And would you believe it? It worked! The dentist saw about 75 people in two days, and thats doing check-ups, cleanings, extractions and fillings. She has a group of people that will be coming back Monday because they needed more intense care. I helped translate for her and it was really fun to meet our workers families, but to also see how happy people were to be able to see a good dentist. I mean, we’re talking full grown adults, in the mid to late 30’s that have NEVER seen a dentist. And to see people excited about not having to have a tooth pulled, but that they could get a filling, and things like that. Chris translated for the nurse which he enjoyed, except for those times where he had to talk about “girl” things :o) Overall it was a HUGE success and we’re hoping that Dr. Lori (the dentist) will be able to do it once a year or more often for them.
Okay, nap time!
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “*Winning* the lottery

  1. Leslie, I'm relieved to hear that your dengue fever was so mild; I had heard baaaad things about it. It's good you're so healthy that you can throw these things off like that.
    Also I'm glad the clinic for your workers and their families went off so successfully. I'm not sure you blogged about the staff party you had earlier this fall; you are creating tight bonds with your workers through those things and the devotionals you participate in with them. You both are teaching about God's love by example, the way it should be taught. Well done!
    Love, Gramma Rolling

  2. I don't know if we ever told you this, but my sister is in dental school as we speak and she's excited to come do some dentistry down there once we're settled in. Also, it's good to hear that your dengue wasn't as bad as it could have been.

  3. I'm overjoyed by the apparant way in which God is watching over you. It seems like ever since I took your blog post titled "Blah" to our 24/7 prayer house that God is answering your prayer request in ways that even astonish you! The blog is still up on a bulletin board at the prayer house for all to read. If ever there is a time you would like to write something to all who have been praying for you, I would gladly take that and post it as well. We will continue our prayers. You have helped us all realize the life of sacrifice you, and all missionaries of this world give for your fellow man. As the song goes….Thank You for giving of yourselves….and a special thanks for taking such good care of your workers. You are the hands and feet of Jesus that these people see. God Bless.

    G.S.

  4. We're so relieved to hear that yours was a milder case of dengue fever; heard how nasty it can be from you dad's aunty when she had contracted that.
    Sounds like your clinic was well received and a success! You're putting God's Love into action and making a huge difference in the lives of your staff and community around you. God bless you for that!
    Love Mom and Dad L.

  5. Sharing just a bit of Haiti with you was such a blessing. Thankyou for opening your diner to us and to allowing us to find a special link.
    We are doing a fund raiser featuring your coffee this Saturday. We pray for the rain to stop and the warm Haiti sun to shine this direction.
    Can not wait to do our recall appointments!
    Lori

Leave a Comment

