What’s growing in the garden?

My mother keeps telling me she wants to see pictures of our gardening efforts, so here you go Mom!
Above is my little nursery this week. Most of the flower plants have been moved out and replaced with veggies. On the right are the tomato seedlings that I got from our friends in Leogane. When I brought them home they were as big as the tomato seedlings on the left. (You can click on the picture to enlarge it in a new window). I have several varieties of peppers in there, and that nice little bright green patch in the back is basil!
I think I shared that we brought back a load of black dirt from Leogane about three weeks ago. It was just the ticket to get things going. Carmen brought in more seeds, and last week when Lori, the dentist was here, she gave me a big bag of seed packets too. Last Wednesday Carmen and I spent a couple hours on the roof getting containers filled and seeds planted. By Friday I could see my beans popping through the surface. I watered on Saturday before we left and they looked the same as the evening before. When we came back on Sunday afternoon I went up and found beans that were already 3 inches tall, and zucchini and cucumbers that hadn’t been there the day before but were already a couple inches tall!
Cukes, yellow zucchini, and beans.
Now, just over a week after planting everything we not only have beans, cucumbers and zucchini, but also more tomato seedlings, several kinds of sweet peppers, lettuce, carrots, sugar baby watermelons, cantaloupe, egg plant and sweet corn. We’re super excited about the corn because the only corn you can get here in Haiti is what we would call feed corn. It has no flavor. We planted the corn in the same big black tubs that Chris had used for his papaya plants and it’s working great.

I’m also excited about my two lone tomato plants that got going earlier. They got a really slow start, but when we came back from our weekend in Leogane they were twice the size they had been when we left, and since then they’ve just kept going. They’re staked and now about 3 feet tall and flowering and setting baby tomatoes. So exciting! I also have some Jalapeno plants that are doing well :)

The tomato plants in the white pot about mid-September.
The tomato plants this week. I know it’s hard to see them against the mango tree, but they’re HUGE! I had to stick an extension on the yellow stake this morning because the plant was outgrowing it.
On top of all the veggies, Carmen and I transplanted a bunch of my flowering plants that I started from seed a couple months ago and they’re all doing well so far. Some of those are vines, like different varieties of morning glories that we hope will just go crazy on the chain link fence and parts of our deck railing. I have some nice hanging pots on our railing too and have tried three times to get nasturtiums growing in them to no avail – until now. A new seed packet, some good dirt, and voila! They poked through yesterday and now they’re about 3 inches tall! My goal is drooping, bright color flowing from our railing. I’ll take pictures when we get there.
Being able to grow things, things we can eat, is therapeutic. Haiti is hard, death is such a reality here and it can be hard to push through some days. Seeing the cycle of life in plants, to see things start from little seeds and become thriving, living things is amazing.
Chris got his birthday present a couple months early. More seeds! He’s got a bunch of passion fruits, all sorts of varieties, natal plum and figs all starting in pots. Those ones will all take a bit longer to get going, but when they do they’ll be a fun addition to our garden :)
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “What’s growing in the garden?

  1. Wow…that is amazing. I am so NOT a green thumb…the funny thing is that I would absolutely love to have a garden but I just haven't figured out the magic recipie.
    Maybe having soil that is more than gravel would be better to start with! lol
    Great job

  2. Great little garden you have growing there! Sounds like you'll soon be reaping the delicious fruits of your labor. Enjoyed the photos and dialogue. Good job!
    Unfortunately we don't have the longer growing season as you do there…… Happy gardening!
    Love Mom L.

Leave a Comment

