Bullet Points of Interest?


  • I will finally be caught up on my laundry today. For the first time in probably about two months. When I say “caught up” I mean that all laundry baskets in the house have visible bottoms when the washing machine starts shaking. I have been looking forward to this all week. And no, I’m not kidding about that.
  • I am working at getting back on track with my diet and exercise program after a couple of weeks on the “off” side of things. It started with having Dengue. Then it continued with being la-zeeeee. I mentioned this before but realized after the fact that I never did get the link working for that. And then I never went back to fix it. The program I’m using is SparkPeople.com. I love it. Very user friendly and FREE! All absolutely free. I would really encourage you to check it out if you’ve been wanting to drop some weight and/or make some healthy lifestyle changes. I like that I can see everything right in front of me and that entering my info for the day is kind of like crossing things off the to-do list. Very satisfying. Love that. If you have any questions about it let me know in the comment section or email me at the address on the side of the blog.
  • While I’m talking about things that I haven’t given you more information about, Megan asked last week what Medika Manba is. I know I’ve talked about it on the blog many times, and you can find those posts by going back over the last couple of months. If you want more info about Medika Manba right from the source go visit Meds and Foods for Kids. They are the creators of this program and supply us with everything we need to help kids through our program.
  • Olivia is starting to use sentences! Yesterday after several tries to get me to lift her up on my lap she grabbed my leg and said, “I said up peez!” She also likes to boss the puppy around. Things like “Daisy no!” and “Eat your food!” She’s starting to point things out and make associations too. This morning she pointed to my shirt and asked what it was. I told her it was “a shirt” and she said, “Mommy’s shirt”. We’re having a lot of fun as a family right now. Chris and I are really loving this stage.
  • It snowed in Armstrong yesterday. I miss that so much. This time of year is always weird for me in Haiti. I hear weather reports from back home, but all I see is sun, sun, sun. I miss those seasonal changes so much. And I really miss the quiet, coziness that comes with snow. Yes, I know it can be such a pain, but those hours between it falling gently on the ground and having to shovel are so sweet. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to being able to go home for Christmas after Olivia’s adoption is done. I have no idea what year that may be, but when it happens it’s going to be so fun.
  • Carmen left on Tuesday and it made me sad. All of us really. She left a bit of a hole. One of my favorite things about her being here is that we didn’t have to explain things. Most visitors we have are new to all this and have tons of questions, which is good. But, sometimes we feel like we just say the same things over and over. Carmen is part Peruvian, grew up in Peru and was a missionary kid. There were so many things that she just understood because it was similar to her life growing up. Because of that we were able to move on and visit and talk on a different level. The kind of level that is so familiar in our relationship. It was really fun and refreshing, I think for both Chris and I. Chris and Carmen met and last saw each other at our wedding. Chris was incredibly sick the whole week of the wedding and drugged up so much that he doesn’t even really remember most of it. It was nice to be able to spend time together away from all that and have two people that I really love connect.
  • I know that living here sometimes means we’re waaayyy behind on some things, so if what I’m about to share is old news for all of you, just blame Haiti. I was on Messenger with my mom this morning and went to turn on my webcam so she could see Liv and noticed that there was the option of “Video Phone Call” so I clicked on that and was shocked when I could not only see my mom, but I could talk to her too – for FREE!! When she saw Liv and was able to talk to us at the same time as seeing us it made her tear up (yes Mom, I did so tell the entire internet that). It was really sweet. Olivia totally freaked out and had a bit of a melt down, then decided that it wasn’t so bad. I knew she was liking the idea when I had to reconnect us and she kept saying, “Nanna” when she couldn’t see Mom.
  • Speaking of Olivia, she is currently in the bath tub practicing her “Yo! Yo!” That’s courtesy of Carmen. It’s nice that Liv has someone to teach her these important life skills. In case you’re wondering what she looks like when she says it, her wardrobe preference is something like this…
  • Last week Daisy learned how to do this. Because her water bowl is apparently not big enough.
  • I love my husband dearly. One of the things that makes him special is his ability to focus on things. Not in the general sense because, well, we’re all convinced he has some attention deficit issues. BUT, in the big picture stuff, when he gets an idea in his head, he’s all. over. it. In the past month he has turned this place into a papaya plantation. If you think I’m joking, you just buy a plane ticket and come on over. And then let him tour you around his handiwork. Not one. Not two. Not three. Not four. FIVE. Yes, FIVE papaya beds. The latest addition was a several day project that had him digging up an entire fence line to plant papayas. And what do you think is going to happen a few months down the road? Yes, we will have papayas coming out the wazoo. Can I say that on the internet? As a missionary?
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Bullet Points of Interest?

  1. What a wonderful and much needed ministry Heartline is offering! Thanks for sharing that as well as the Mandika Mandba program; what a difference this is making in the lives of women and children when proper nutrition is such a challenge in Haiti!
    Loving the family pictures and updates…Liv is developing so quickly and is a very healthy & lucky young lady!
    Papayas?! The very, very best fruit in the Carribean besides your banannas, of course! We look forward to enjoying those on our next visit! Great job Chris!
    Love Mom (Nanna)L.

  2. Hi-I wanted to tell you about SKYPE, its another free video phone thing and its awesome! I use to to talk to my sisters in South America and New York city-its almost like having them home…almost.
    I just tried it for the first time last week and its super easy and very cool.

Leave a Comment

