Delivery Day In Pictures

IMG_4863

IMG_4872

IMG_4873

IMG_4876

IMG_4878

IMG_4885

IMG_4886

IMG_4888

IMG_4889

We have a Vision Tripper in so the two of us decided to go out on deliveries today with the guys. I had some fun flipping some of my pictures into black and white. These are all workers, except for the boys eating sugar cane.

I love that I can see our workers personalities in these. The first picture of Richard and Preval is a case in point. Richard loves to sing, even with his earphones in, and it doesn’t matter if he’s in tune or not. Preval has the sweetest, quietest, gentlest spirit about him and it just comes out through his eyes.

The pictures in the “hut” were where we had lunch. That was actually fun. The guys call ahead and let the woman know they’re coming so she can have enough food ready. All 10 of us crammed into this tiny hut and ate big plates of rice and beans with aron sol (salt fish) and “piment” which is onions in a spicy sauce. It was really good.

We saw some interesting things too. 3 albino women all living in the same group of houses. 3 little boys trying to compete with a calf for momma’s milk. That one was actually really entertaining :) More things, but I can’t remember and I’m tired. Time for sleep.

Oh yeah! People! In less than 48 hours we’ve had about 350 hits on the blog. That’s nutty! And I LOVE it. Hope you’re all enjoying the new digs and I already know that you’re checking out the pages. Fun!

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Delivery Day In Pictures

  1. I love the pictures. Somehow the black and white really speaks loudly.
    I am so glad to know you and what you are doing in Haiti.
    Praying for each of you early each day.
    We are hoping you would like 6 month check ups early March 2010.
    Lori

    • Hi Lori,
      Thanks, I love the black and whites too. It’s almost like removing the distraction of color so you can see what’s really there.
      We love knowing you too! We would love 6 month check ups in early March. We have a Vision Trip planned for March, but we could do it before that.
      Leslie

  2. I love love love the photo at the top of your home page. It is just precious. If you can email it to me as a JPG attachment I would be very happy. :-)

Leave a Comment

