Just to Confirm What You Probably Already Know

Okay, because writing about how I wanted to get myself organized for the next couple of months isn’t enough, I’m going to actually post a picture of the calendar. Because I’m that much of a goon.

IMG_4900

I did it up in Publisher. I knew I needed it big enough to write several types of things in. It’s two pages, with one trimmed and glued to the other. I printed two copies – a working copy and a “good” copy.

In the planning stages I just made lists of a) the “chores” I needed to do, and b) the stuff that needs to get done, or that I want to get done before Christmas. Most of it’s fun. The “chores” were either things that needed to be done weekly, like cleaning the bathroom and laundry, or special stuff to get ready for company like making beds etc. The “Christmas” stuff is things like baking cookies, ordering gifts, etc.

I also decided to do a meal plan. When things get busy around here it’s so nice to not have to think about that. Chris did a big grocery shop a week ago so I planned for the next couple of weeks based on what we have. We will have to do a minor shop next week, and then another big one when I get back from Missouri while I’m in town, but that will take us through until after Christmas.

I don’t always have a meal plan for just us, but when we have company coming I always do one. Part of it is that it makes the grocery shopping so much easier. The other part is that when we’re busy hosting people I don’t have to think about that part of things. I just look at the plan, know that we have everything because I made the shopping list off the plan, and cook. It’s almost like being on auto pilot. The meal plan is always flexible in the sense that sometimes we have a lot of left overs so we’ll eat those instead of me making something new.

After I did all of that “rough” work, I went through and designated a color to everything (I have a friend who keeps me supplied with fun things like super fine Sharpees that don’t bleed through :)).

  • Everything that was an “event” like people arriving or going, or a significant day got written in BLUE.
  • Meals got written at the bottom of each square in BLACK.
  • Chores got written at the top of the box in GREEN. They are the first things to get done every day, then the fun stuff.
  • The “Christmas” type stuff got written in RED, of course.

I felt lighter after I got it done because all of the sudden I didn’t have all of this stuff running around in my head. And the nice thing is that I can see where I can add extras in. If I think of something else I need/want to do before the holidays, I can see where it’ll best fit. Extra “chores” to do? Same thing.

The most fun thing? Chris looked at it and said, “Are you going to do one of these for every month next year?” Because he liked it.

If you like the idea, but don’t want to put the work into making the calendar shoot me an email and I can send you a copy that you can print and fill in for your family. I can send it in Publisher or as an Adobe file. If you’d like one for all of next year, just let me know :)

 

 

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Just to Confirm What You Probably Already Know

  1. just wanted to say i stinkin’ LOVE your blog!! i love the calendar thing, you certainly can send me a copy, i’m all about lists and writing stuff down.

Leave a Comment

