Birthdays and the Blahs

Things have been quiet since Tuesday. Thank you for your prayers for our family and the mission and our workers. We have all felt it. We are seeing God working, but I’ll be honest and share that Wednesday was a hard day. I just felt really discouraged and wiped out. Turns out I was getting sick. Some sort of cold. I think it’s the tiredness from not sleeping well (it’s a full moon right now and it shines right in the window by my side of the bed and wakes me up every night) and having my system get run down from that. I’m going to be trying to get a lot of rest this weekend because I have lots of fun stuff to do next week! Please pray for good health for all of us. We are tired and those seem to be the times where we end up getting sick. We want to enjoy the holidays with family here.

Wednesday was Chris’ birthday, the big 3-5. We had several friends over for dinner and enjoyed a nice evening with them. It was a nice reprieve from the last few days. Kind of felt normal again. We had a delicious dinner and an even yummier dessert that Chris picked out – cheesecake pumpkin pie. Yes, you read that right. I had a magazine here from a friend that had a picture of it on the cover. He saw it and said, “Can I have THAT for my birthday?” :) It was delicious. Pie crust, layer of cheesecake, layer of chopped chocolate, then pumpkin pie, all baked together, then topped with more chopped chocolate. If you want the recipe let me know.

It was great to have wonderful people here to celebrate Chris’ day with. Adele shared a verse with Chris at breakfast that was so very fitting for him right now. I love this man so much and see that he is becoming my best friend more and more each day. I love his character and his desire to stand for what is right. I see how God is growing and changing him. I feel so blessed to be his wife, and even in the hard times, can see that God definitely knew what he was doing when he brought us both to Haiti for the first time in 2003. Only God knew then what we know now – that two people who can be very stubborn and independent needed each other and that they would perfectly compliment each other. Those are fun things to learn :)

I was really excited for Christmas and then got a bit waylayed with that last week. BUT, it’s time to get back in the game and look forward to GOOD things again. Earlier this week Adele wanted to do some baking, so she made us some cookies and made some vanilla wafer dough for me so I could bake them up this weekend. Need those for something else :)

Last year I made our family an Advent calendar. It’s up on the wall and each pocket has a candy for Chris and I to take out each day. We don’t give Liv much sugar so I wanted to do something that she could enjoy too, and that would grow with our family as the years go by. I made 25 flour & salt dough ornaments the other day, baked them, painted them, varnished them and tied a ribbon to each one. Each one has a number, a count down until Christmas.

Each morning Olivia gets to pull the ornament out of the calendar (with a little parental help of course) and then we go to her room where we hang it on her “Advent tree” (the top of the tree my mom brought last year). The first morning she got mad when she had to leave it on the tree. The second day she got excited when it was time to do it and as Chris and I stood there with her and hung it she pointed to the tree and said, “What’s it for?” Not only were we baffled that she had asked the question, but it made it really special for us as a family because we were able to tell her we were counting down to Christmas, when we celebrate Jesus birth. I realized that kids are never too young to start hearing about big person concepts. In the future I’m going to write a verse on the back of the ornaments so that we can do a bit of a family devotional every day leading up to Christmas.

One thing that got done Wednesday was that Doug and I built a new table top. We love our kitchen/dining table and chairs, but since we’ve moved up to the apartment our seating has been limited. Before, we would just move the table on the deck and bump it together with the deck table. Our kitchen is a good size, so after some thought I realized the easiest way to remedy the situation was to make a removable top.

We had a piece of press board plywood left over from fixing the shop roof after the generator fire last year that Chris was wondering what to do with, so we used that. I cut it down to 4×6 feet, cut some strips of 3/4″ plywood (same thickness as the table) and then Doug and I brought it upstairs and set it on the table. Doug centered it, then we started screwing the plywood strips/blocks around the table – 2 on each side, one on each end. The result is a snug fitting, much bigger table top that we can pop on or off when needed.

Our seating capacity went from 4 to 8-10 in about an hour. Super easy! Sometime in the future it’ll get a few coats of varnish so it’s more wipeable. The great thing is that when we don’t need to use the top we can lean it up against the wall in the storage room. It’s nice to know we can have friends over, or groups visit and that we won’t need to be eating on our laps anymore :) I love it when a simple, creative idea works out. It’s so satisfying.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Birthdays and the Blahs

  1. Leslie,
    It is never too soon for your little one to learn the true meaning of Christmas! When I brought S home 7 yrs ago at 18 months, the first Christmas was so soon after he came home he didn’t ask. However the next one he did and I told him that the big guy was a cartoon character like Elmo and Mickey Mouse. That the reason we have Christmas is to celabrate Jesus’s birthday. So for one our special traditions we make Jesus a birthday cake. The kids do get a few presents from my sister’s and I and friends . they know who they are from and write Thank notes for them.
    My son last year told me that he knew what the best Present anyone gave him for Christmas and I ask him what and he said” but Mommy it was when God gave us Jesus his son for our Christmas present when he was born!”
    I thought if I do nothing else right this one was the biggest for him…..
    Praying for an ease to some of your struuggles there and that you have a Blessed Christmas!
    God Bless,
    Rose Anne

Leave a Comment

