Homeward Bound

I’m sitting in the Miami airport. It’s 5:07 am. I’ve gotten about 4 hours of sleep since Friday morning. I should be really fun to be around by the time I get home :)

So yes, I’m on the way home. And yes, I’m happy about it. I don’t know if I’m ready for Haiti yet, but I am more than happy to see my little family. I’m really looking forward to the day when we’ll finally be able to travel together, especially at Christmas.

The wedding was fun. There were some really good moments and I met so many wonderful people. I think one of my favorite things about the whole week was getting to spend time with Bobi, Marcus and Elsie away from Haiti. We all realized that we like each other even more in the absence of the heat, the sweat and the stress of living in what we do. I think it was also just really affirmed for me that God continues to provide us with what we need, especially in the area of friendships. For a long time we and others in our missionary group prayed for younger, long term people to come into the country and now we have 3 living just minutes down the road from us.

There were also other people there that I’d met in or through Haiti, so it was fun to reconnect and look forward to the next visits with them. Meeting and spending time with family and friends of Bobi and Marcus was great too. It just adds another dimension to a person when you meet the people that have been part of their lives to that point.

I have lots of thoughts rolling around in my head about the life we’re living now. I’ve been re-reading the Poisonwood Bible, probably one of my favorite books. I read it within months of arriving in Haiti and it really resonated with me then. Reading it again is doing the same thing, especially in light of some of the things that have been making up our lives lately. I’ll try to post about some of those thoughts soon, as there’s time and as they become more defined.

One thing that living a life like ours does do is help a person become an efficient luggage packer. Elsie and I spent several days shopping, in the spare moments that we had, to finish of “the list”. I got all the important stuff, got it packed and then just said, “Okay, that’s it. I’m pretty sure that’s my weight limit.” Got to the airport yesterday afternoon and after a minute of shuffling and packing my coat in the bags I was at 50 and 50.5 lbs respectively. Yes, thank you very much. If you ever need packing help, you just let me know ;)

Who are those people?? Oh wait, it’s Elsie, me, Bobi and Marcus. I know, I know, it’s hard to recognize us without the layer of sweat, and with our hair actually combed and a little make-up on ;)

We clean up real good :)

*Photos courtesy of Elsie.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

8 thoughts on “Homeward Bound

  1. Hi-long time reader, sometime commenter here-my kiddo is Haitian and I just designed some fabric for her. I wanted to share with you since I’ve seen your amazing (!!!!) quilts before. The pattern is on my blog-http://designermama-manaallamano.blogspot.com/
    Cheers,

    • Theresa, I checked in Safari and Mozilla and they’re showing up in both. Not sure which browser you use, but that might be the issue. Other than that I have no idea what to tell you :(

  2. Leslie,

    I’m not sure what it was either, but the photos are all working! It looks like it was a beautiful wedding and you all look fabulous!

    Have a geat Christmas with your family!

    Theresa

Leave a Comment

