7.0 or 5.5, depending on your source or where you were.

Yes, there was an earthquake about an hour or so ago. It was crazy! I was sitting at my desk writing emails when things started shaking and I thought a big truck was going by on the highway because sometimes you feel that here, but then it got worse and all I could do was basically sit and hold on. Olivia was out in the yard and I sat watching her stand with the guard and felt jealous because nothing was going to fall on their heads if it got any worse. I, was looking around watching the walls waiting to see big cracks form, but nothing did. Thanks to Otto’s engineering and the many thousands of dollars of rebar in the house.

After it was done shaking we heard people yelling all around the neighborhood. After shocks hit for the hour or so after but have stopped.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

16 thoughts on “7.0 or 5.5, depending on your source or where you were.

  1. Glad you are all OK. Fox News is reporting a conversation with Joel Trimble, a missionary in Thomasin, who says every other building in Port-au-Prince is flattened

  2. Can you watch CNN online? Do you need earthquake news from us? Are you guys able to stay safe where you are? I hope your guards are committed to sticking around today.

    Lots of love.

    Liz

  3. Prayers for everyone involved are being said.

    CNN Reporter Jessica Yellin keeps asking, “You have your own rescue teams. Can you tell us about what they are doing now?” I sure wish someone informed was asking the questions.

    Terry sent out an email from St Marc and his early report sounded good.

    Early reports here are mentioning collapse of major roads due to mountainside collapse.

    Please keep us all informed of how we can help.

    Blessings
    Barb

  4. Leslie, so glad you & Olivia are safe. The earthquake is all the news here. Your family, CWH & all of Haiti are being prayed for–hard. Take care.

  5. When I heard of the earthquake today I immediatley thought of you folks and started praying for you. I’m so glad that you’re oK and that even your house is fine. Praise The Lord. I will continue to pray for your strength and courage in the difficult days ahead. Lord Bless

  6. The news is devastating. Reading your post from yesterday makes me wonder about the strange weather related to what happened today. Haiti is in our prayers.

  7. Is the Karibe Hotel itself ok? We have family (Emmanuel Rejouis and Emily Sanson, who does HR for the UN mission) who live in the apartment complex nearby and who use the pool and tennis courts. They have three little girls. We can’t reach them. Was there a lot of damage, injuries, nearby?

Leave a Comment

