Added to: Things I Never Thought I Would Do

Last week I got an email from the people over at Esquire magazine asking if I would write for their website. They wanted thoughts about things a week after the quake. Um, ESQUIRE MAGAZINE!

It went live today. Visit Esquire.com. It’s right there, front and center as their number one feature.

I do want to preface this by saying that they did some editing. My content is all still there, just shuffled around a bit and there was stuff added, for sensationalism. Me? I tried to write from the one person in the crowd perspective. Oh, and there were no cameras at the cemetery, which was in St. Marc. It was just something I saw as we drove by that hit me. I have never worked with an editor before. Unless you can count my husband who usually just tells me I use too many words.

And now add “wrote for Esquire” to the list of things that I never thought I would do in this lifetime.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

25 thoughts on “Added to: Things I Never Thought I Would Do

  1. Wow…. I can say I knew you when… ;o) We are saving news media for the kids and history… Now I’m gonna have to go find a copy of Esquire magazine.

  2. Reposted from the Planet Waves website:

    By William Booth
    Washington Post Foreign Service

    PETIONVILLE, HAITI — Through decades of coups, hurricanes, embargoes and economic collapse, the wily and powerful business elite of Haiti have learned the art of survival in one of the most chaotic countries on Earth — and they might come out on top again.

    Although Tuesday’s 7.0 magnitude earthquake destroyed many buildings in Port-au-Prince, it mostly spared homes and businesses up the mountain in the cool, green suburb of Petionville, home to former presidents and senators.

    A palace built atop a mountain by the man who runs one of Haiti’s biggest lottery games is still standing. New-car dealers, the big importers, the families that control the port — they all drove through town with their drivers and security men this past weekend. Only a few homes here were destroyed.

    “All the nation is feeling this earthquake — the poor, the middle class and the richest ones,” said Erwin Berthold, owner of the Big Star Market in Petionville. “But we did okay here. We have everything cleaned up inside. We are ready to open. We just need some security. So send in the Marines, okay?”

    As Berthold stood outside his two-story market, stocked with fine wines and imported food from Miami and Paris, his customers cruised by and asked when he would reopen. “Maybe Monday!” he shouted, then held up his hand to his ear, for his customers to call his cellphone.

    For people unfamiliar with the history of the US and Haiti, Noam Chomsky’s essay, “The Tragedy of Haiti” provides an historical backdrop to our long-standing relationship with the country. It is not a pretty picture, but its a great read and a lesson on how big states and interests suppress small nations, creating an economic gulf between the rich and poor that we see today, and as the article suggests.–From Planet Waves website.

  3. Wow, page 1 on Esquire! Good job! Really nice article from an insider’s point of view. I have been amazed at some of the gratitude I have seen in Haitians interviewed — I am alive, I am so thankful. I lost everything and family members but by God’s grace I am alive. — I am not sure I could have been as gracious a witness in the face of such loss, despite being a Christian for over 40 years, since I was 6.

  4. Hi Leslie …… I would love to have some pictures for a slideshow of your eyes on the situation …. if I remember reading your blog you mentioned you liked taking pictures …. this slideshow would be for the benefit concert here in Vernon on Feb 12 (confirmed) at the Prestige Inn….. I am working with Julie Beach on this one … also send a pray er Julie is workin hard on seeing about Toyota donating a new truck .. so if you could email Julie letting her know what it is exactly you are looking that would help .. thanks

  5. Leslie and Chris,

    I want to thank both of you for your work in Haiti. Your article in Esquire certainly does say a lot about the people of Haiti. I am so sad, beyond words sad for the catastrophe that you are living through.

    Leslie, I’m not surprised at all that they asked you to write for them, anyone who has read your blog knows there’s a passion inside of you. Great job!

  6. Leslie,

    My connection to you is like 7 Degrees of Kevin Bacon. I’m married to Matt Wright’s nephew…so anyway, that’s how I found your blog. Matt told me about you guys and your ministry. I admire your family for all you’ve been through.

    And as a reporter, I know all about the editing process. I can be out of your hands sometimes. My husband and I are praying for you all.

    Tracie Simer

  7. Wow! Just read the article Leslie.. Great Job! You are one remarkable woman! I honestly can’t even imagine what life is like for you and your family… I think of you often .. Keep up the great work.

  8. Thanks for the article Leslie. I’m in the north of Haiti – Limbe. It’s so true how the mood change as the days went by. The day after the quake, life just went on as normal. By the weekend, as people began to make it here from Port, is when the severity of the situation was felt by most people.

  9. Hey Les,
    Great article!!! See writing all thos papers in college finally paid off!!! No just kidding!! I really enjoyed reading it!

  10. Leslie I just read your piece on the Esquire website and I went numb for a few minutes. It’s as if I felt myself standing on a street in Port-au-Prince taking it all in. I admire your work and passion…God bless all the people of Haiti!

  11. Thank you both so much for this eloquent, honest blog. I stumbled across you soon after the earthquake and have been checking back in frequently. I never had a particular connection to Haiti before, but I hope to help keep this remarkable country in our thoughts long after the network news cameras leave. In gratitude, Liz Kastor, Takoma Park, Maryland

  12. Hey, Les!

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers so much right now…couldn’t believe the news that Haiti was hit again with an “aftershock” – a 6.??? aftershock!

    Thank you for writing so well from your heart; I’ve been sharing the article around work and on my FB status to get the ‘real’ news out to more who might care and pray!

    love and prayers

  13. Hi Leslie,
    I sent you a note about us making bandage rolls to send to a address in Haiti. Did you get that? I am looking for a contact.
    Let me know
    Thank You for all you do. I am keeping up with your blog.

    • I’m sorry I didn’t reply, we’ve been trying to catch up. Unfortunately I don’t know who to put you in touch with right now. Maybe one of the other readers has a suggestion.

Leave a Comment

