Deb is here!

We’ve been working at getting a nurse friend of mine from my home church for the last week and today Deb finally arrived on an MFI flight. She’s going to be working in our local area either helping at a local clinic that is short staffed, or a local hospital helping teach Haitian nurses how to do good wound care. It was really fun to hug her when she got her and we’re having a great time together. Right now the three of us are fighting over desk space and Skyping and emailing. I like that she’s only been here for about 6 hours and she’s already putting my husband in his place :)

This afternoon I spent some time flipping through our dossier. It’s sitting right on our desk with it’s IBESR number staring me in the face. It’s kind of crazy. And surreal. I remember working so hard at getting all our documents together and making sure we had everything here in the country when we needed it. It seems like so long ago, and I guess it was considering it was 2007.

We are getting more fabulous phone calls of people wanting to help out in big ways. It’s really crazy actually.

Time for sleep.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Deb is here!

  1. Hi Leslie,
    Some ladies got together and made some bandages to send to Haiti. I hope this idea isn’t like the blankets you mentioned. We want to do something to help. I appreciate what you are doing and am glad you are there supplying filters. I will be praying for your needs and your family.
    Reply

  2. Hello and the greatest and largest of hugs to all of you. I live on Vancouver Island BC Canada, a small town called Port alberni.
    I cannot begin to tell you how I truly applaud all of you and the work you do above and beyond what is expected. I like everyone else here wishes we could help in so many ways, most of us have donated money in hopes it will get to the places and areas it is most needed.
    the issue for me is that although it is nice for the media attention to slow down, human nature is such that when it does the memories of what has happened to Haiti will diminish.
    I truly pray that some country will step up to the plate and assist the country to find the path leading to economic viability.
    It may sound very simple to you and ignorant on my part however I suppose I am a bit of a dreamer and this past week I find myself submersed in dreams for Haiti, perhaps it is all I can give right now and in my own small way hope it helps.
    I am sendin you a huge bouquet of hugs and hope you take one each time you need to…wish I could give more but I know it’s something and every little something helps in some way.
    My prayers and heartfelt thanks are with you.
    lovingly
    Linda

  3. FYI… sound crazy but really works… If you have an infected wound and no antibiotics… if you can find any potatoes, cut a slice and put directly on the wound, wrap it however you can just to keep it in contact and it will draw out the infection and help kill the infection. Old remedy I got from the German side of my family – have actually used it.

Leave a Comment

