My heart is heavy

I’m feeling angry and frustrated and emotional right now. I’m catching up on news etc and have had emails and press releases sent to me. It looks like the Haitian government has ground things to a halt in the adoption department because they want to review each and every case before signing off.

I’m angry because they are lumping apples with oranges. Kids that have already been designated an adoptive family and who were in the system already are NOT the same as newly orphaned kids who lost parents in the quake. I’m not just angry because of our case in particular, but for all those families who are now sitting in limbo after watching so many go home. How long does this really need to take?

Also learning some things about rebuilding plans and it makes both Chris and I upset. It sounds like more of the same, rather than moving Haiti forward. There are too many people being too nice and trying to give the Haitian government “just one more chance”. How many chances are necessary before someone steps in and says that you really aren’t capable of doing it on your own. Chris was talking to a local man, not someone in the government who would tell anyone otherwise, about the idea of Haiti becoming a protectorate. This guy is in his 80’s. He said, “If that happened in my lifetime I could die knowing Haiti was going to be okay.” That’s the voice of the average person. They want to feed their families. They want work. They want their kids to go to school. They want better health through good sanitation etc. They don’t want to see the leaders of their country planning new vacation homes and not doing anything for them. There, I said it.

As far as the adoption thing goes, For His Glory orphanage is asking for adoptive families, relatives, friends, anyone that cares about adoption of Haiti’s kids to band together tomorrow, January 28th, for a day of fasting and prayer for the adoption process in Haiti.

Please pray that a sensible choice, one that benefits the kids, will be found. That the process will not be long and arduous for families that have already been in the system for so long. That those new children being taken in by orphanages will be verified as orphans and matched with families quickly or granted humanitarian parole.

I don’t have any more words right now. My heart is heavy and hurting.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

9 thoughts on “My heart is heavy

  1. Leslie, my heart is heavy to read about this delay. I encourage you to keep on it and hoping. There will be a day when this is all a memory and a story to tell your daughter. Until that day the waiting is just wrong and bad and sucks. HANG IN THERE! We are all cheering for you.

  2. I’m so sorry. This is so unfair after so many kids were allowed to leave already. I understand new kids in the system need to be (quickly) determined to be orphans but why would that apply to kids already in process? I can’t fast as I have diabetes, but I will be praying for all the children who have already been waiting for families. I have been and will continue praying that someone who can do something will have Chris’s same thoughts on a protectorate. It is so needed now for these people. Without it, I don’t know that they will recover from this. It seemed things were already pretty desperate before this.

  3. Is. 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My Righteous Right Hand.

    Will pray and fast in agreement with you tomorrow to release and expedite current and additional adoptions, specifically targeting the Haiti leaders; their hearts are in the Hand of the LORD and He will guide their hearts like a watercourse, wherever He wishes (Prov 21:1).

    Speak His Word, reading His Word out loud (rhema) which commands His angels, our partners in this battle…(Ps. 103:20)

    …and take… the Sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God (rhema); (Eph. 6:17)

    Logos (Greek) is Jesus in John 1:1, and is used in the NT for the written Word of God, Rhema is the Greek word used in Eph. 6:17 and it is the spoken Word…

    battling in the spiritual realm with you for His Kingdom to come and His will to be done on earth, in the physical realm, as it is in Heaven….

  4. My heart aches and I cannot even imagine how much more for you. I am praying along from the frozen north.
    My gratitude for sharing from your angle is greatly apprecitated. God has the plan that we really will not understand today. Or maybe even tomorrow. But He does hold you and make you a light despite that.

  5. Praying…. and will continue to be praying until Liv is on Canadian soil!!

    I can only imagine how hard this is on you guys… I’m so sorry that you are having to go through this.

    lots of love & prayers

  6. Leslie, I don’t know this particular pain, but I remember the 3 months we waited for certified birth certificates because the book from Archaie hadn’t made it to the archives and then the embassy being closed because of manifestations on visa day. It just sucks!!! Praying for all those already matched with families to be released soon and a more reasonable system for all these new orphans. Love you lots! Diane

  7. Praying Psalm 8:2….out of the mouth of infants and childrens, You have ordained praise/strength, because of Your enemies, that You may silence the enemy and the avenger….praying that God is raising up an army of worshippers of His children to praise Him, and glorify and Honor His Name and His Son, Jesus….

    and the enemy is silenced….

Leave a Comment

