Some things

Yesterday was Manba day for me. I took Deb with me to Canaan so she could connect with Elsie and we could all figure out what she would be doing and where. We were all short vehicles so we all went to work at the clinic. With the help of a translator from Canaan Deb was able to see patients all morning. She was a huge help with the one girl I wrote about last week with the really severe case of Kwash. I don’t think I did a very good job of explaining just how bad this girl was. When I said that her skin was literally peeling off, it was literally peeling off in my hands, but it wasn’t dry, it was wet and leaving her flesh exposed and pink. This week she was doing noticeably better. She lost over a kilo of water weight! Her hands weren’t as swollen and the upper part of her body wasn’t swollen. We bandaged her feet up to keep them clean and gave mom some topical stuff to put on her skin to help it heal and close up so she doesn’t get an infection. She was still in a lot of pain, but it was so good to see that the Manba is working for her.

After lunch we had a vehicle so we headed out to St. Marc to see if they needed Deb at the hospital there. On the way we stopped by the Pierre Payen hospital so Elsie could drop off some supplies to the doctors there. Dr. Ric told us they were going to be doing their first ever amputation since the quake, and it wasn’t for a quake victim but rather an old man with diabetes that had never been treated. We went to see the man. He was this tiny bit of a thing. Ric worked at wrapping his severely decaying foot while he explained what they had to do – an amputation above the knee – because it was so far progressed. The thing that broke my heart was that he had already lost his other leg. If they didn’t amputate the second one though he would die of sepsis. The man just sat there looking at all us while people looking at him. I greeted him and he held his hand up to me to shake it. I squated down so I could talk to him and just asked things like where he lived and how old he was. As I held his hand he told me he lived in Pierre Payen and he was 68. I was glad I could hold his hand, and speak to him in his own language.

We got to St. Marc and Elsie connected with the doctors there. When we introduced Deb and told them she was there to help out with wound care etc I literally saw a load come off of their shoulders. They were so excited to see her. They’re operating through Partners in Health. As we took supplies to their store room and walked around a bit we heard stories about medical teams just showing up and wanting to move in and take over, wanting to do procedures that couldn’t be done because of the equipment not being available etc. They have over 300 patients in the hospital right now. They are in need of nurses to come and help with wound care. If anyone is interested you can contact me and I can pass on contact info for you to see if you can plug in.

Prayer Request
We are trying to figure out what the process is for our adoption now. We have been told that our case is before the review group in CIC (Citizenship and Immigration Canada) but haven’t heard from anyone in specific about what’s going on, other than a response of “An officer is reviewing your case and should be in contact with you shortly. Thanks for you patience.” We did learn through our contact at the Embassy that CIC makes the decision, and if they decide to finalize an adoption then it’s DONE. From there they notify the adoptive family and the Embassy. The Embassy locates the child and they issue a visa then evacuate the child.

Before Chris and I learned this today we already decided that if our adoption gets finalized and we get a visa I would leave with Liv and stay in BC as long as it takes to get her citizenship done and her passport issued.

Please pray for this process. We are praying that CIC will decide in our favor to finalize our adoption.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “Some things

  1. You are in our thoughts and prayers. Thank-you for being the hands and feet.
    Special prayers for Liv’s papers. How exciting would that be to have everything finalized!!

    The Steins

  2. I am an old La Leche League friend of Sally’s and have been reading your blogs with great interest, especially your efforts to finalize Olivia’s adoption. Watching Canadian news of kids arriving from Haiti a few days ago, it looks like the Canadian government is really working to speed up the adoptions which were in the works before the quake. (One little tot was walking in the cold in flip flops, most were bundled into blankets to be taken into the airport.) I will be holding you and Chris in my thoughts and hope you get back to Canada with your adorable little girl soon. My personal thank you for what you and Chris have been doing in Haiti for years now.
    Ottawa, ON

Leave a Comment

