Now it makes sense

As I was reading through the comments this morning there was one from Beth:

This probably won’t make you feel any better, but here in Nova Scotia the provincial adoption coordinator is stumped. We don’t know what the status of our adoption is either. The only thing we know is that Canada has given our kids a 1 year temporary visa and is paying for their healthcare. Immigration told us to apply for their Haitian passport through the Haitian embassy in Ottawa. Our province is telling us to hire a private lawyer because it looks like the kids are wards of the province and we are going to foster adopt them. It’s really confusing all the way around. I’m so thankful they are here with us and I know it will work out… we just don’t know what that will look like.

Thanks for commenting Beth. You gave us the answers to so many questions that no one else has been able to.

When we left the Embassy on Sunday we were in a complete state of limbo. We knew nothing, other than the fact that I was supposed to get on a plane on Wednesday and had no idea when we would be back. As I shared, we thought we should take the opportunity while we had it. What I didn’t share is how unsettled I felt about all of it. I was happy that something was moving, but something didn’t feel “right”. My heart was so conflicted that I was up in the night crying and my stomach was churning. When I got to the core of things it was breaking my heart that Olivia would have to be separated from her Dad for who knows how long, and that I would be leaving Haiti for an indefinite period of time. In the years that I have lived here there have been plenty of times where I have wanted to go home, but for the first time this was not one of them. Yes, I wanted to go and get things taken care of and I was excited about the thought that it was happening, but being there for the indefinite future and having our family separated was not sitting well at all.

When we got the call yesterday we were angry and the gross mis-communication because we/I had done everything to communicate exactly what our situation was. It was apparent that things were not being communicated to the right people within the system. The crazy thing is though, that I had this huge sense of peace wash over me when I knew that Olivia and I would not be leaving.

I see now why. It’s not God’s plan for our family to be sitting in two different countries and working through a process that doesn’t make sense to anyone right now. God wants our family together and he wants us here right now. Yes, it’s hard to be in that place of not knowing how we’re going to get Olivia’s adoption taken care of, but at some point it will be done. I feel that. It would have been worse to go through this whirlwind of getting out of the country only to find out that we were stuck in this process that wouldn’t work for us. Because we are adopting while living in Haiti there has been little involvement required from Canada.

We want to thank everyone for praying for us. We are not done yet. More than ever we need your prayers. We believe that God has it all figured out and has a plan, the right pieces just need to be set in motion and the right hearts need to be working in our favor.

There are three specific stages that we need to go through here in Haiti to have this DONE. Here’s how you can pray very specifically for the process:

1. IBESR. Haitian social services. It is their job to do the initial approval of the adoption. From what we understand now the Prime Minister now needs to sign off on adoptions. We are trying to work with the channels we have here (friends that know the President etc) to see if we can get our dossier before the PM so he can sign off on it. We are hoping and praying that not only will that be possible, but that he will see the value of completing it. We are hoping and praying that if we can get that signature that it will override IBESR and we will be done with that stage.

2. The court system. After IBESR/the Prime Minister signs off the dossier will need to go through the courts to have an adoption decree written up. Because Olivia is abandoned we are hoping this will be a simpler step. There will be no need to search records for birth parents etc. We are also hoping and praying that a friend of ours here might have connections to a judge that can expedite this process for us. Sometimes it’s all about who you know.

3. MOI – Minister of the Interior. Once the Adoption Decree is written the adoption is finished. From there Haitian Immigration needs to issue Olivia a passport. MOI IS open. It’s one of the few government buildings that didn’t fall. Again, our friend may know someone in MOI that could make the process go faster for us.

Once all three of those steps are done we are finished with the Haiti side of things. From there we can take our Adoption Decree and finished Dossier, along with the passport to the Canadian Embassy and submit Part 2 of our Citizenship paperwork. One good answer that I did get yesterday while talking to the Embassy was that it will take less than 3 months for her Citizenship to come through. We have already been assured by our contact at the Embassy that once the adoption is finalized they can issue a multi-entry visa for Olivia that would allow us to come and go as much as we need to until her citizenship is finished and we can get her passport. I had to renew my passport through the Embassy here and it took three weeks, not bad at all.

We are going to do whatever we can to push, push, push and get this DONE. Will you pray specifically for the stages above and that God would be opening doors in miraculous ways. Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could travel with our daughter this year?

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “Now it makes sense

  1. Thank you Leslie, I feel so much more at peace having read this. As much as I was excited about you and Olivia coming, there was an uncomfortable feeling within about the separation of your family. To know you are ‘well’ with this and resting in the Lord’s timing is most encouraging.

    God bless and, yes, I will continue praying… always that God will be glorified throughout.

  2. (Forgive if this is irrelevant. I can’t recall all I’ve read about Olivia.) You say you will not need documents about Olivia’s parents because she was abandoned. I hope you got sound advice when submitting evidence of Olivia’s abandonment to Haitian officials. If she was dropped off somewhere and the birth parents are unknown, have you documented that as best you can? If efforts were made to find the birth parents or other family members, can you document that? If a birth parent abandoned Olivia by personally handing her to someone else do you have official abandonment papers?

    If the birth parents were known to be alive at the time you submitted adoption papers, that may open up more questions, perhaps impossible to answer these days.

    If you haven’t already done it, I suggest you arrange your copies of adoption documents in the order they would be examined by Haitian and Canadian authorities under normal circumstances. Scrutinize them for anything that might need to be supplemented or somehow reconstructed if submitted documents are lost in rubble. For example, have friends or colleagues write letters documenting the abandonment. Make a chronological set of photo with you two and Olivia to have available to show officials. Be sure any fingerprints you need are up to date.

    I have friends who were put through all kinds of hoops proving abandonment even after they had a signed document and the child was abandoned at birth.
    nder the circumstances I certainly hope you have smoother sailing.

    I wish you well.

    I’m asking this because I know of a case where

    • Hi Delcee,

      Thanks for your suggestions. We’ve been working with a great orphanage that has done tons of adoptions and they have taken care of all the paperwork. She has her birth certificate and is registered as an abandoned child etc. We are only getting involved now in a direct way because of the situation at hand.

  3. Super. I wish you the very best at the interview. If I had the skills, energy and command of Kreyol to be useful, I’d be in Haiti by now.

Leave a Comment

