Time to move a mountain called IBESR

Today Chris went back to the Canadian Embassy to retrieve our dossier and got to speak to the woman there that I talked to on the phone yesterday. After explaining that he had 10 letters to the Prime Minister of Haiti in his hand and was looking for a way to deliver one and our dossier for his approval the woman at the Embassy made a call, to IBESR, which is open again!

She spoke with the director herself, the woman that is responsible for signing off on our file and explained our situation and basically told her that our kid needs to be able to travel sometime in the near future. She made arrangements for our family to go to IBESR tomorrow to meet with her in person. This is what we wanted way back in November! Having the Embassy behind us now just gives it more push.

Please pray for tomorrow. Our hope is that by meeting with the director in person we can talk and she will see that not only are we providing a loving environment for Olivia, but that we are helping Haiti and want to continue that for many years to come if we’re able. It’s our hope that by raising our children here they will learn to love others and to have a heart for people. By raising Olivia in her home culture she will learn about her country and be connected with her people. I hope that her Creole surpasses ours by the time she’s 5. I hope that she learns to sing and dance with the freedom that I see in so many kids here. I hope that she learns to love people of all races and class levels.

Please pray that the mountain that is IBESR will be moved tomorrow and that we will be able to move forward. We only want to be able to travel with our child.

On a totally different subject, I was chatting with Yonese today about what causes earthquakes etc. I guess there are a lot of people that are worried that another big one is going to hit but in a different part of the country. From there our conversation turned to people coming to God because of the earthquake. She told me that 3 bokos – witch doctors – in our community have converted to Christianity in the last few weeks. Just the other night one of them publicly burned all of his voodoo paraphernalia. Our community has had a lot of voodoo related issues in the past, and this could be a turning point.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “Time to move a mountain called IBESR

  1. re. conversions… WAHOOO! Praise the Lord!!!!

    That is what I have been praying for!! May the church of God in Haiti rise up in the power of Christ and may the Lord of the harvest do His work of drawing people to Himself!!! Is the church there prepared (equipped) to be able to disciple a significant number of new believers? Are there enough believers sufficiently familiar with the Word of God that they can teach others (from the Word!) the basic truths of our faith? Oh, may it be so!

  2. btw… I have also prayed regarding your adoption process, including your trip to IBESR tomorrow. My previous post may have sounded like I totally missed the main point of your post. I didn’t! It is just such good news to hear of these conversions. May they be the first of MANY!

    regarding your adoption process: God’s will… and in God’s timing. Continue to trust and obey!

    Live ready!
    Bob

  3. I pray that everything goes well today with the IBESR and that all is well your family. I have been reading your blog (as well as others) since the earthquake and continue to do so as it is the most humbling and uplifting part of my day. God bless you!

  4. I continue to pray for Olivia’s paperwork to be completed. The most recent press from Haiti, relating to adoption, suggests that some agencies may be slow to act just now. I am convinced that all will be well soon and you will be able to take Olivia to see her many friends and admirers.
    Blessings
    Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

