Gotcha Day

Our first family photo.

All packed up and ready to leave Heartline to head home for the first time.

Last month.

It was two years ago today that we brought Olivia home. I remember it was a Monday. After an emotional weekend we packed everything up and left the house at about 5 am. We were home by 9 am. In a period of four hours we went from being non-parents to parents. We had no idea what we were doing. She’s still alive though so I guess we figured it out pretty quickly.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

12 thoughts on “Gotcha Day

  1. She was soooo tiny! How precious. And she is quite the cutie now. You guys are doing a great job as her mommy and daddy. Happy 2nd anniversary :-)

  2. As my kids would say when they were little, ” I be-member”! And just a few days before you got her you were all sad thinking she’d never get there! It’s been fun watching you become a mommy !

    Joy, Joy, Joy!

      • I was looking at my old blog yesterday and realized Olivia spent her first superbowl Sunday at Visa Lodge :) It was such a fun day! Love the photo of O in her big girl bed at the end of the email you sent out! :)

  3. Call me biased, but I think both of you have shown remarkable parenting skills, despite a less than perfect situation. Olivia is thriving and in fact quite advanced thanks to both of you parenting her full-time with such love. She knows her boundaries and also knows that the world she lives in with you is loving, safe, nurturing and fun.
    We are all blessed by having little Miss O in our lives just as she is blessed for having you two as her parents. Happy Gotcha Day, Olivia!

  4. Sweet memories…..Isn’t adoption the greatest thing? Hoping you soon have the legal stuff behind you so you can focus on the tasks at hand. Praying hard for the right people to be in the right places today. She’s a beauty! God Bless you with patience till the end.

    G.S.

  5. I noticed you mentioned Heartline. Do you know Shelley and Byron Tlucek? Shelley’s the daughter of a friend of mine here in Nampa, Idaho.

Leave a Comment

