Ugh.

Downtown Port au Prince and the harbour. USS Comfort and other ships sitting just off shore.

Okay, so we didn’t really get anywhere yesterday at the office that is called IBESR. Surprise, surprise. Through some other connections we supposedly have another meeting with the director at 1 pm today. She was out sick yesterday. We will be phoning the person who set up the interview before we leave the house. Because we are not going to waste three plus hours driving to go to and from only to not see her face to face. So freakin’ frustrating, but this is Haiti and this is how it goes. We are pretty confident that if we can get past this stage we can actually move forward, but we just need to get past this stage.

Last week the Toyota dealership gave us back the loaner truck that Chris had the day of the quake. We are being thankful for having some sort of passenger vehicle right now, though it’s an adventure. There are only seat belts in the front seat. The back right passenger door no longer unlocks. The back seat isn’t actually attached to the truck in any way. Sudden stops are a bit interesting if you’re in the back unless you can wedge something between the seat and the center console. I tried it, it works. We have also discovered that strapping Olivia in the front seat in her car seat results in severe car sickness, thus the multi-puking on the way the Embassy on Sunday. We thought we would give the car seat another go yesterday and got about halfway to town when the whining started. We pulled over for a little break, started again and the pre-vomit whining started again. We pulled over, threw the car seat in the back seat and she sat on my lap the rest of the way and was fine. We think it’s the combo of the shaking of the truck and not being able to see well over the dash. I figure it’s just one more way that we’re becoming Haitian. People always look at the car seat and wonder why a baby has her own seat. It’s kind of funny really.

I was scheduled to fly out of here next week. Got a call from American Airlines that that would no longer be happening. Talked to the people on the phone this morning and they were super friendly and accommodating, canceled my whole flight and gave me a full refund. And then thanked me for everything we’re doing down here. That was nice. We decided that with everything going on adoption wise, with the Craigs being new on the ground and just trying to manage stuff it was better for me to stay here and plan a trip home in April for my BROTHER’S WEDDING. Yes, my little brother is getting married! I’m so happy for him. I haven’t gotten to meet his fiance yet, but I’ve heard she’s fabulous.

Chris just walked in after being on the roof to water. He told me to open my mouth and close my eyes for a big surprise. Then I crunched down on part of a jalapeno pepper. While he laughed.

Have I ever told the story about when we were in Chicago visiting friends (Hi!) and we went out for Indian food? Yeah. There was a garnish on one of the plates and Chris said, “Hey, do you want to eat the bean?” (Because it looked like part of a green bean) I popped it in my mouth and chewed. Then started crying as my mouth went up in flames. And he laughed. He knew it was a pepper and thought I did too. All I heard for the rest of the meal was, “I thought you knew!”

Revenge, my friends, can take years to come around. Many, many years.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Ugh.

  1. I remember having lunch at the Indian place one of the times Chris was visiting. I can’t remember if you were there or not though. I had a similar experience with a ‘bean’ once. Too funny.

  2. Ahh, revenge is sweet. As Chris’ mom, I give you full permission to seek revenge for that dastardly deed of his (not that you need permission). Like cutting off ALL his hair while he’s sleeping. MMMM, I like it!

  3. Oh my goodness, that brings back memories. “Open your mouth and close your eyes, and I will give you a big surprise!” I’m singing it to myself right now. I’m glad to hear that he still tries it, but yeah… I don’t open my mouth for that request anymore!

Leave a Comment

