Tired

I’m so glad it’s Friday. This week has been an emotional whirlwind.

We went back to IBESR yesterday and met with the Director. We weren’t sure what to expect when we got there. As soon as we got there I knew that if we hadn’t worked through our friends friend we would have gotten no where yesterday. People in authority here just send off a vibe. You either know you can work with them person to person, or you know there will be other issues that enter the picture. Because our friend had contacted the Director and her boss had talked to her she knew that they would know what happened after the meeting etc.

There was still funny business though. First, the guy that had given us problems the day before because he felt threatened when Chris insisted that our dossier was still there, even though they were in the numbers above ours, and that we were sent by the Embassy who has arranged the meeting. This guy was not willing to even talk to us. I tried to politely explain where we were coming from the day before and he kept shutting me out in front of about 10 other people. Because he was upset with us we anticipated that there would be problems with the dossier.

The only document missing was one that I had in my hand. The director explained to him what it was and that his job was to staple it inside the dossier and accept that. As we were wrapping up the meeting I kept looking across the desk ad the official document that would be signed for our dossier to move. I realized just before we were done that the childs name on it was not Olivia’s. I interrupted and said, “This is not her.” Everyone was all, “That’s not her?” I pointed out that the name on the folder (Olivia’s) and the dossier number on the folder were no where near similar. We got this, “Oh, they must have gotten mixed up…” etc. We know that it was intentional to block things and are so grateful that I caught it right there in front of them. This is the kind of stuff that goes on all. the. time. One document is “off” so things get held up for another three months etc. I’m sorry if people don’t want to hear this, but it’s the truth and everyone here knows it.

We are now waiting for the signature of the lawyer for IBESR to give judiciary authority to move the file and then the other three signatures can be put on it. We were told this would be done by Tuesday. If it is not we need to make a few phone calls so the right people can follow up on our behalf. I feel confident that stuff will move. It’s still going to take time, but there are too many people involved now and too much accountability for things to go too awry.

We spent the day with our police officer friend again yesterday. He’s the one that is helping us with our arson case, and now our adoption stuff. The guy is connected. And he’s really funny. Some of the stories he tells just leave us shaking our heads in disbelief. What we love is that he’s a Christian and has a deep desire to see corruption in Haiti end and wants to help people like us navigate through the system in a good way. We love him.

We’ve spent three days in the last week driving around Port. I’ve taken a few pictures. It’s emotional to drive around and yet I know that I’m seeing it weeks and weeks after the fact. There are no more bodies in the streets, but there are crumbled buildings everywhere. There were times over the last two days where I felt lost. I didn’t know where we were and it was simply because the landscape didn’t look the same. The familiar land markers are no longer there, and all open spaces are filled with tents. Those things are eerie and strange.

After we came home on Wednesday Chris and I were talking about what it was like being in town. I noticed that for the first time since I moved here there was no where that I felt unsafe. There wasn’t a place where I felt like we needed to really be watching our backs. In fact, as we were downtown I noticed that I felt more relaxed. People seem more friendly and receptive that I have ever noticed here before. There are a ton of foreigners in the country now between the missionaries, military, aide groups and reporters. I’m wondering if people are seeing that without outside intervention the situation would be unimaginable right now. Usually when people see us with Olivia we hear nasty comments, like “that baby’s not for you,” but we experienced the opposite. We would be driving and Olivia would wave and people would wave back and smile at us.

Last night we had a new friend over for dinner. He lives just down the road from us and just showed up here a couple of weeks ago and introduced himself to Chris. He’s 86 years old and a sweet, sweet man. I’m looking forward to getting to know him better.

Today is a ‘home’ day. No need to go anywhere or do anything ‘big’. I’m making banana bread to freeze because we have way more bananas than either house can eat. We try to give them away, but sometimes even that doesn’t solve the issue. So, banana bread it is. And maybe muffins. And whatever else we can put bananas in.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Tired

  1. Thanks for writing, Leslie. I am sorry you are having a hard time with the adoption still. You guys have been through so much lately, even before the earthquake.

    One of the things I packed in my little evacuation bag was the pouch I bought from you.

    Still hoping to get to meet you some day…

  2. I’m so thankful for your blog, Les…love you guys…your faithfulness to the Lord and what He would have you do in this situation. Swimming up stream is exhausting – keep hangin on to each other and the Lord, hun, and know that so many are praying for you here!

Leave a Comment

