I’ll just make this a separate post.

Ugh… I just spent the last 45 minutes trying to track down a link to a news article about one of Haiti’s deputies shooting another deputy IN the Chamber of Deputies. I couldn’t find it, so I called a Haitian friend who told me he couldn’t remember exactly, but he thought there wasn’t actually a shooting, just threatening with the gun. I wanted to make some sort of point, but now I can’t even remember what it was. Anyway, now I have two versions of the story. The more exciting one is that the deputy who had been shot (or shot at, depending on the story) turned out to be an American citizen. The Americans had Marines come to the Chamber of Deputies from the Embassy to whisk the wounded deputy away to safety and put him on a plane to the states. It’s illegal to serve in office in Haiti if you hold a passport to a different country. There’s a rumor that the majority of Haiti’s Senators and Deputies actually hold passports to different countries in addition to Haitian passports.

If anybody would like to do some research and find out what actually happened, please post a comment. I’m really curious!

One thought on “I’ll just make this a separate post.

  1. Hi Leslie,

    I remember that story well – it definitely was in Le Nouvelliste, with a picture and everything. I don’t remember exactly, but I think the gun did go off and hit the guys hand or something. But don’t quote me on that. Not sure if lenouvelliste.com has archives.

    Hope you guys are well. Looks like you’ve been busy pumping out the water filters!

    Matt

Leave a Comment

