Baby, it’s cold outside.

Okay, you can call us whiners, but it’s been COLD here in Pierre Payen. Yesterday morning we got up to a balmy 68.9 F. This morning I did something I have never done in Pierre Payen – I put on my thick hoodie sweatshirt. And pants. And wore them most of the morning. I’ve worn the thing up in the mountains because it is really cold sometimes, but never at our house. Crazy!

We finished our last day of clinic yesterday and started our first day of class yesterday. It was busy and tiring but we pushed through and are done. The clinic finished off well. We had appointments for 120 people in the dental side of things and 120 in the nursing side of things, but I completely lost track of how many people we really saw. On the second day we invited extra people to the nursing clinic and that set a precedent which was a bit hard to manage on the other days. Things like people coming that realized we had a dentist there so they wanted to see both, which pushed back the dentist appointments. We learned some things and the next time Lori comes back we’re going to rock it even more. The bottom line is a lot of people were seen and they now have cleaner teeth or more knowledge about their bodies and health, or both! I’m glad we can work with Lori and reach out to our community a couple of times a year like this.

The class is going well. We have 8 students and they’re all very into the class. It’s nice when we get students that understand why they are there and are interested in what they’re learning. Chris does the first couple days of teaching and I take over tomorrow when we start talking about project planning and implementation. I like it when we get to that part of the week because we get to do exercises with the students that involve them being creative and presenting their work to the class. It’s just fun for me to see them open up.

And now, now we have a few hours off and I’m going to go wash my feet off and lay on my bed and read. And not much of anything else. Because I’m dog tired.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside.

  1. I see you have truly converted…..posting the temp in Farhenheit. LOL. It’s been exceptionally warm here in Vernon the last week for this time of year. Last Saturday I think it got up to 16 (Celcius, haha) and I was sitting in the yard in short sleeves drinking a smoothie. Since then it’s cooled a bit 9-10 degree highs. But for the beginning of March….can’t complain. I’m glad things are going well and the clinic was a success.

    • I’m a partial convert. Fahrenheit just sounds hotter :) I have a thing on my desktop that tells me the local temp in Fahrenheit and Armstrong temp in Celsius so I can translate it in my head :)

Leave a Comment

