The sweetness

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time you know that there have been (and will continue to be) many difficult times here on the ground. Life in any culture that’s not your own is hard to start with, but when big issues arise sometimes it’s hard to see where they end might be, or where the good things are.

This last week of training was a good one for us. We hadn’t done a class in over a year. I love that Chris and I are in a place that we can just pick up like it was yesterday and go. Our staff did a fabulous job with their parts and I love that they took initiative to go above and beyond. It kind of makes me giddy.

Sometimes working here feels like we’re just giving and giving and giving. When someone takes the time to say thank you it settles in deep and means a lot. This week we had one student that was trying very hard to use his limited English and we were wondering what was up when specific sentences were trying to be translated. We were preparing ourselves for a little last day speech in front of the class, but instead he just quietly handed us a little letter and then went to pack up his things.

In his words with no editing :)

“Dear Mr Chris and your wife

I’m speechless and surprise to day to write these lines in order to say thank you for your intelligent, your money everything you’re brought to help me and all friend in Haiti. By the way, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for (5) five days we spent together so I felt so positive because you were very relax with us. Let’s me tell you that since I been here I never find a person like you and your wife. I say all that I do appreciate you. But I can’t rewards you for the 5 days of the seminary I think God takes the note. As you know and you see the problem that the earthquake causes in my country in this try to pray for me and I continue to pray for you and that God can give you strength and courage to understand and to help people God. I pray for your mission “Clean Water for Haiti” continues growing. But in the name of Cite Soliel Chritian Church we thank you. In addition to that I trust God will give the rewards to you soon. Mr Peter and your family we love you to. Mr Chris and your family we love you.

Thank you. God bless you.”

During the week as we taught and talked with the students they asked many questions about the history of the mission here and how we’ve grown, what problems we’ve had etc. When we shared some of the difficulties we’ve had they were saddened, but were so encouraging. Many of their prayers through the rest of the week during meals included prayer for us as we lead and prayers for the mission as it continues to reach their people.

This group of students spent a lot of time together. Normally when we have mixed groups they are social, but still a bit divided. This time they spent all their free time together. They played soccer in the yard. They swam. They started the morning off with a prayer and worship time together and ended the day that way. Some of them even decided to go out into our area and evangelize. I couldn’t help but wonder if things were the way they were because of the earthquake. We’re they praying more because they have experienced loss and were more grateful to be alive? Were they evangelizing because they want others to know the same hope they have? Are they more grateful of the time they can spend with others because they know that life is uncertain. I don’t know, I can only wonder.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “The sweetness

  1. So happy to hear that your training went well. What a wonderful gift this man gave you in the letter he wrote. That is so encouraging.
    Keep up the good work you are doing there, one day things will start to change, and stay, for the better. I believe that you will be there to see it happen.

  2. What an encouragement for you guys! God has placed you in this difficult place for just a time as this and it’s awesome when we get to have a glimpse of His purposes and see some of the rewards of our labour! Thanks for being faithful!

Leave a Comment

