It’s so humbling

We want to thank you for the well wishes and the continued thoughts and prayers for our family. Reading your excitement through the comments has been so fun and such a reminder that we are not on this journey alone. I can’t wait until we can share the big news that we’re ALL DONE. I think I will probably be a big blubbering mess when that happens.

I wanted to share something, well a couple of things that were fun for us to learn this week as we shared our news. The first is a comment left here that shared that this person hadn’t had a chance to catch up on the blog in a few days, so they had no idea we were going to meet the Minister of Social Affairs etc, but God had really burdened their heart to pray for us very specifically.

Wow, I hadn’t read your post for several days and was beyond amazed to read about your meeting…..well I shouldn’t have been amazed because I know God does answer our prayers. I had been prompted to specifically pray yesterday for your adoption….that the papers would be signed and all would be done and legal so that you could focus your attention to what God has called you to do. Thank you, Father for this step forward….may you give them peace with the final paperwork to be finished. Blessings to you this day!

G.S.

I think I almost cried when I read that. I love that God can be so specific and speak to his people. I took our Vision Trippers out to St. Marc the other day to visit our friends Bev and Al, and while Al was showing them around the community Bev and I had a good visit and caught up. She told me that on Sunday during the missionary meeting when I had shared that we were just feeling at a loss of what to do God had really burdened her heart for our family and she had been praying constantly for us and our adoption. She was SO happy to hear about the meeting and that our dossier was signed.

We have been reminded how sweet the support that we have from so many really is. Many of you have never met us in person, have never talked to us, but you love us and are rejoicing right along with us in good times and sharing the burdens when things are hard for us. It’s so incredibly humbling. Thank you doesn’t even seem to do it justice, but that’s what we can say… THANK YOU.

I do want to share something that we had maybe mentioned, but not really expanded on just because things had been so hard and frustrating. We had literally reached a point where we had no idea what we were going to do. Because of the situation at IBESR when we had gone in there and the interaction with the people there we felt we were getting no where. We were literally at a head to head stalemate. It was a case of seeing who was going to give first. On the weekend I said to Chris, “I feel so frustrated. I don’t know what else we can do. There isn’t anything else we can do! I’m afraid we’re going to get stuck here and it’s NEVER going to move, just because those people can do that.” We had literally exhausted all our options ( we don’t consider paying a bribe as an option). We felt like we had hit the end of the road. When we got the call about the meeting we were still hesitant and expecting the run around.

We have really been working on our adoption since June 2007. That’s when we first started meeting with the orphanage and gathering documents. A year and a half later our dossier went into IBESR, and now 16 months after that we are finally moving forward. Over 2.5 years since we started. Sigh.

Thank you again.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “It’s so humbling

  1. Wow! A lot has happened since I last had a chance to sit down and catch up with you guys! This is AWESOME news….one step closer! What a story you will have to tell Olivia about the power of an amazing, faithful God! Just when we are at the end He steps in and reminds us that we aren’t in control and that He can still move mountains! We are praying for you often and thanks for keeping us all posted.

  2. It took my daughter and her husband over two years to adopt their son from Bresma and we spent many a night awake wondering what was going to become of all this. Hang in there and it will happen. I understand your feelings and frustration. We have been there too. It seems so senseless when you think of all the children who just need a loving family and a future. Good for you for not playing the bribe game. Haiti has to change if she wants to have a plentiful and just future.

  3. Truly amazing how God prompts people when and for whom to pray for. This reminded me of how often “when we are at the end of our resources, God comes in with His resources”…so true. We’ll keep praying for completion to the adoption.
    Mom L.

Leave a Comment

