Mama always said…

… Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Today was one of those Haiti days that I look back on and think, “Hey, life here is interesting!”

We left Olivia with friends last night so we could make an early morning adoption meeting with John and Junior in Port. Turns out John has lived here so long he’s practically Haitian and runs on Haiti time. While we waited for him to show up we visited with his wife Beth up in her office in the Women’s Center. We got to meet Jonna, a lovely young lady who came last fall and committed to staying three months, was here through the earthquake, and decided to come back on a longer term scale. She’s a mid-wife and helps out at the Heartline Women’s Center. As we chatted she cuddled a brand new baby boy that was born last night in the street while mom was on the way to the clinic. We also got to meet Lisa, who was actually leaving Haiti today. She’s been here for a while and it was her last visit to the center. She’s also a mid-wife. I had read about these ladies through blog posts so it was fun to finally be in a room with them.

As we visited another mom in labour arrived. She was one of the ladies in the pre-natal program from pre-earthquake. 18, first baby and when she walked in her contractions were about 3-4 minutes apart. Chris exited the room post haste and I hung out for a bit with the ladies. I haven’t ever been around a woman in labour so I learned a few things while I held a garbage can and mom to be vomited. Didn’t know that was a part of the birthing process for many women. I didn’t get to stay for very long, but as I went down stairs to meet up with Chris and head up to see John and Junior I couldn’t help but smile. I didn’t expect that to be part of my day, and it wasn’t even 8 am yet!

We had a good meeting. Our dossier was heading over to Parquet today and we were told by a guy on the inside that it would probably take two weeks. We’ll see. I’m always hesitant to put any faith in things like that. The good news is that he didn’t say 3 months, so I guess that’s something. We’re feeling more hopeful that we might actually get a holiday together this year. Please pray for speediness in a system that is usually anything but.

We spent the rest of the day with our police officer friend taking care of all sorts of errands. We met another high up guy in the government, went to another office to do something else and drove around a whole lot. I saw parts of town I hadn’t seen well before or yet since the quake. On the way to drop our friend off we went down Delmas 3, the same place Chris was when the quake happened. He parked the truck in the same place and we all got out and he and our friend recounted for me how things happened (they were together at the time). We walked across the road and stood in front of the pile of rubble that was the school that Chris was pulling kids out of. It was hard to be there, but I’m so glad we went.

Now it’s time for bed. It’s been a long few days of not being home and running back and forth from town. I’m looking forward to having a couple home days.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Mama always said…

  1. While at Heartline did you meet Barbie Boots (barbieboots.blogspot.com) ? Her blog, Haiti is Such a Strong Word, is one of my favorites!

Leave a Comment

