Waiting on the coffee and the kid

It’s 5:52 am and the work day started 22 minutes ago. Yes, we now get things rolling at 5:30. Not so good if you are not good at getting up early, but good for those that have to work out in the heat. Stopping work at 2 pm instead of 2:30 makes a surprising difference. Today we’re doing an all day training class with our workers to fill in some of the blanks of what we do for them. We’ve taught them the practical side of things, like how to build the filters etc, but not all of them know how the bio-layer gets formed etc. We’ll be working on the sanitation and hygiene education that they need to teach filter recipients too.

So glad today is Friday. We had a friend over last night and she looked at Chris and I and told us we looked tired. Not just “you haven’t had enough sleep in the last couple of days” tired, but TIRED. We are. This last month was a crazy busy one with non-stop visitors for over a month. Literally, we had three days without people here. And, it was all great. We loved everyone that came through our gate and enjoyed our time with them, but hosting is draining because we do that on top of having to look after all the other stuff that goes on in a normal day. Thrown in there were several trips to Port to deal with adoption stuff, other trips to deal with other stuff, and the stresses of the arson case not being wrapped up. So yes, we are tired.

Olivia has official entered the “terrible twos”. I was thinking that based on previous behavior we would miss it, but apparently I had my head in the clouds. The last few days have consisted of meltdown after meltdown paired with crazy crying jags that leave her voice scratchy for the rest of the day. I know it’s all normal, but man, not fun. Especially when all I’ve wanted to do for the last few days is crawl under a rock and sleep.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Waiting on the coffee and the kid

  1. Apparently it’s “just a phase” My mantra is….thousands of parents have done this, lived to tell about it and have great kids…I can do it too…I think! Hang in there and if you get a chance go and find a big rock and have a nap…yeah right, I know!

Leave a Comment

