Will You Pray Us Home?

Wow, I just had a rush of emotion as I typed the title.

I’m looking at the calendar today – May 10. About a month ago, after our adoption papers got out of IBESR we started feeling hopeful that we *might* actually get a trip home this summer. It’s looking like we’re close to being done with Parquet – the court system where everything gets legalized – but we’re not sure. We were told two weeks, and that was a month ago which I expected. We’re supposedly going to get an update today about where things are at.

We have a goal. We want to be able to travel at the beginning of August. Now, I know that our timing on things and God’s timing on things are often very different. There are good reasons for us wanting to be home around this time. We have some big family events that we would like to be home for since we’ve missed so many in recent years. We want to be able to take some time away and go camping, one of our favorite things. We have a board retreat that would be really great to be at in person. We need the rest.

Because we will only be able to travel directly to Canada initially, our travel options are limited. Basically it’s AirCanada, and they fly out of Haiti once each week. In an ideal world we would be booking our tickets now. But, we don’t have that option and will just have to wait until we get the go ahead. With limited options we’re feeling a bit twitchy. We’re so grateful that things are moving, but it’s still hard to sit in that place of uncertainty. And yet, we’re feeling more peaceful and hopeful about saying “We will be going.”

Will you help pray us home? Three months. That’s our time line. I know God likes to work in ambiguities and he likes to work in specifics. I know that this might not happen and if not then we’ll just accept that, but man, we really want to get home. We would love to know if you are praying. If you want to say “Hi, I’m with ya!” in the comments, that would be cool :)

Thanks for loving our family so much. We know many of you have never met us face to face, so it means even more.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

21 thoughts on “Will You Pray Us Home?

  1. Yup, I;m praying with you! Found a new novel about pre colonial Haiti. Soon as I finish with it, I’ll get it our to you. Much enjoy reading your postings!

    • Earl,
      I’m just about done with Lydia Bailey. I loved the part about Haiti. I kept reading parts of it out loud to Chris, even though he had already finished it.

  2. praying with you guys that you get to come home this summer as a FAMILY!

    (oh, and about Liv loving the cold…. so does Ronel, he wandered around in December here in tshirts while I had 2-3 layers on!!)

  3. We are with ya!!! For sure. We pray when we read your blog and when we pass the clean water display at VAC – For never meeting you in person it amazes me how much you are on our hearts :) And thats a good thing – I love how God works in connecting us in His purposes through prayer.

    Well be praying and rootin for you the whole way

    Kate and Ed

  4. Having lived on an isolated, tropical island I know your feelings and will pray that God who delights in pleasing us will give you the desire of your hearts.

  5. My prayers and my husband’s prayers will be with you to make it home in your 3 month timeline. I’ll even throw in some specifics about safe, quick and easy travel too!

    I’m so happy to continue to read and think of you from week to week and see that you are so strong and resilient. Best wishes to your family!

  6. Not only do you and your husband need and deserve respite, but Liv needs to start making connections with her extended family. I am with you.

  7. Will continue to keep you in my prayers for the finalization of Olivia’s adoption, for your work there, and for Haiti’s rebuilding.

  8. We include you and your family in our prayers and will, particularly, pray for timely completion of your adoption so you can go forth with a heart and family secure and settled.

Leave a Comment

