Because our parents will LOVE this

Thank you to all of you that have left comments about praying for our family. It’s so nice to have some names behind that support. It means a lot to us, it really, really, does. THANKS! It’ll be fun to share progress reports with you as we go.

And now on to something completely different.

It’s Friday so why not end the week with something entertaining. Yeah, that was my thought too!

So Peter and Chris have been gone since Wednesday to Leogane where they’ve been doing a look-see at a potential new site for our planned mission expansion next year. (Oh, you don’t know what that is? Well then. Okay. We’re planning to expand the work of the mission by opening a second production site somewhere in the country. Peter and Sara are here so they can train and then run that place. We’re now starting to do site visits and with then narrow down a location and run with it. Run like the wind we will. And there you are, all caught up again.)

So, as I was saying, Peter and Chris have been gone since Wednesday. Last night us girls had plans to have Bobi and Elsie over for some girl time. I had gotten Olivia into bed around her normal time and Bobi and Elsie had been here for about half an hour when I heard the sound of Olivia’s door opening. Sure enough, she came wandering out and did this little springy dance run thing when she saw Bobi and Elsie. The best part was that she was no longer wearing her pajamas. Noooooo. She had taken those off and thrown them in the laundry and changed back into the dress she had worn all day. When I went in her room to put her back to bed her light was on and she had obviously been awake for a little while by the toy shrapnel that was spread through the room and her bed. She was put back in her pj’s and put back in bed and tucked in, once again. Didn’t hear a peep out of her again.

Little Miss Tinkerbell and her mad stroller fixing skillz.

Until…

Until much later.

I had woken up and was trying to get back to sleep. I now know that my subconscious had woken me up because there was a stirring in the house. When I heard the click of Olivia’s door knob I sat up in bed and sure enough, there was a glimmer of light coming from under her door. I hit the light on my alarm clock as I pulled myself out of bed.

3:30 am.

Yes, you read that right. 3:30. IN. THE. MORNING.

I went to her room and opened the door to see Little Miss standing there, lights a blazing, and once again fully dressed in her dress with pj’s courteously thrown in the laundry basket. That was nice of her. To throw them in the basket at least. I was just thinking that maybe doing that during the day would be a better idea. Just a small thought.

Did I mention it was 3:30 am?

I informed Little Miss that she was in fact going to be putting her pj’s back on, and that she would be sleeping with me for the rest of the night. There was no way I was going to risk doing this up and down thing for the rest of the night. We changed, and went and snuggled down. She twitched a bit and then was out. How nice for her. I did fall asleep again, but you moms know how that goes.

And is Little Miss any worse for wear this morning after her early morning foray into the clothing world?

Um, no.

And that right there, people, sums up the unfairness of parenthood. That’ll show me for calling Chris all excited last night that we had gotten through an entire day and no multiple clothes changes. She actually wore the same dress all. day. long. I don’t remember the last time that happened. That’s what I get for putting my cart before my horse. Sigh.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

9 thoughts on “Because our parents will LOVE this

  1. I think it’s a girl thing….boys just prefer to go naked…everytime I turn around…he has no clothes on!!!! She sure is a cutie! Thanks for all the posts!

  2. Love the Tinkerbell outfit and hearing of her antics! Perhaps little Miss “O” is practicing to be a fashion model….I have heard that rise before the crack of dawn…..
    Hoping to see a foto soon of her “coming to Canada outfit”….you know the boots, bathing suit and the backpack!

  3. You cheered up my Friday evening! You are a gifted writer. You write concisely. Olivia is going to be a lot of fun. You have a great attitude. Let’s see how long you can make that last ……. Love and prayers.

  4. After a less than perfect day at this end I delighted in reading about our little Tinkerbell’s nighttime antics. Where did she get that darling dress? No wonder she kept putting it back on!

    • Carmen brought the Tinkerbell outfit when she came in October. She must not have been in a Tink phase when you were here at Christmas. She has been putting that one on and taking it off, and putting it on again, but the dress in question the other night was a different one. One that’s made from knit cotton and elasticy so she can put it on herself. Though, that usually means it’s on backwards and inside out. BUT, she is learning to dress herself :)

  5. What a joy to read about your adventures with your daughter!! She looks so angelic in the photo!!!!!!!! Enjoy the ride! It only keeps getting better.

Leave a Comment

