Progress!!

This morning we got a call from Junior, our adoption guy, to tell us that our dossier was basically done in the courts. The judge has signed off and papers have been written. Chris will be going into Port tomorrow to help Junior try to speed up the process of getting some things pulled from Archives. Right now it’s taking a very long time so they’ll be going to talk to a guy that’s higher up first thing in the morning to see if it can go faster. Pray about that. Once they have things pulled from Archives we can move on to getting her Haitian passport. When we have that we can get her visa to travel!

I will be very honest and tell you that I’ve been feeling really discouraged in the last couple of weeks. When we put our papers into Parquet (the courts) we were told two weeks. We knew that was unrealistic and I told Chris that if it took 6 I would be happy. It’s taken about 2 months. And I’m happy. BUT, in the waiting process it’s easy to feel discouraged. We knew things were moving, but no idea about where they were exactly. It’s easy to feel like it’s never going to be done. To get a call that says we’re almost over this hump is a great thing. I almost cried. BUT, there’s that part of me that is hesitant to get too excited. To feel like we’re “there” yet. We’re getting closer. But we’re not done yet. When we have her Haitian passport in hand we will celebrate. I think we’ll have to do something really fun.

***********************

I was thinking about the food post I just did over the last couple of days and realized that there might be some people out there that would read it and think, “Wow, those missionaries sure eat a lot in a country where people are starving!” I wanted to clarify something. Yes, it was a lot of food. But, when we send Yonese to the market I only have so much control over what gets brought back. She has spent years learning our family and how much/what we can and like to eat. Still, there are times where she brings a lot back. When I give her a list, it really is just that, a list. I may tell her I want a mamite of rice or popcorn, but other things I just write down, like tomatoes or avocados. And then I get what I get.

Some weeks I get a ton of tomatoes and the next time I ask for them I have to mention that the last batch was too much. Sometimes it’s hard to find certain things so I might get one or two. Other times Yonese likes to make up for what she might not have gotten the week before. For example, two weeks ago Sara and I both put tomatoes and peppers on our lists, but because it was so hot Yonese wasn’t thinking clearly and only bought enough for one house. This last week Yonese brought back a dozen peppers and a bucket of tomatoes. I hadn’t put peppers on my list, but she knew I didn’t get them the week before so she made sure I got them this week :) She also brought home a pumpkin, because Chris had mentioned that he wanted one so I could make him a pie, NOT because I put it on the list :)

There are definitely weeks where we feel overwhelmed with what comes back, but then we don’t need to get much for the weeks following. And, in case you’re wondering how we’re doing with working through what we did get last week, We’ve already eaten most of the fruit. Just a watermelon left. We’ll be making more juice before Thursday to use up the juice fruit. We had several groups of friends over during the weekend and I ended up cooking three different meals. Yesterday night I made a yummy salad and threw in a sliced up mango from one of our trees. SOOO good. I thought it might be fun to make carrot soup too. I’m going to look into it.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Progress!!

  1. You know Leslie, I was so encouraged by this the other day and I hope you are as well.

    We had some friends over for lunch the other day and they also are supporters of you guys and your work. Their 3 (just about 4) yr old son prayed for our lunch.

    “Dear Jesus, Thank you for the food and please help olivia come home, amen”

    I just thought that was sooo cool. I hope you have a good day.

    Kate

Leave a Comment

