Tuesday

We’re full swing into a training class for a dozen people. Most of them are from an organization that we did training for years ago. They have since then trained others within their organizations. We suggested they invest in those that have been trained within and have us train them so they know that they are doing everything correctly. Running a filter project isn’t just about building filters, it’s about the reputation of the filter. Not installing or building a filter correctly can cause problems for everyone who is trying to use and promote the technology in the country. We want to make sure that everyone we train is doing a good job so we can all impact as many people as possible.

This class was a lot of prep. Literally three days of sitting by the printer running off manuals and posters and the like. I was so happy to be done even if it was at 9pm on Friday night. We have another big class coming up in a few weeks and I’m definitely going to be starting earlier to get everything run off. We’ve ordered a new color printer/copier that does double sided printing, and whoo boy! Was I ever wishing we had it already on Friday night. I’m very much looking forward to the day when I can just hit print and walk away.

I haven’t written a follow up to last weeks post about our news. We’ve gotten more information about what needs to be done now for our adoption. Chris has met with the second in charge of Archives and they are looking into whether we will be able to even do what we need to do, and if so how long it’ll take. Archives was one of the government buildings that was destroyed in the quake. To my knowledge, like many government offices here, they’ve reopened and are doing what they can, but the process is slow. We are waiting to hear about whether we will even be able to get the stuff done that we need to do. IF we can get it done apparently there are several government offices to be visited to verify that everyone is in fact okay with the adoption. Crazy system.

Every step of the way I feel like we get over one hurdle but wait for what we need to do next. It’s the same with this. We’re happy that we’ve gotten through the courts, but know there is still more to do and it could take any amount of time. Please pray with us that we’ll be able to complete this and do it in a timely manner. I still very much feel that if we’re going to be going home this summer it’s going to be last minute. Probably lots of mad rushing around etc.

On a fun note, there was something that I put off doing for over two years because it was that one thing that we wouldn’t need until we could travel. When we were getting everything we knew we’d need to bring a baby home etc I didn’t get a stroller. We knew it would be a while before we could travel and there was no point in having one to just take up space. As we’ve made progress this year I told myself that when it was time I would finally do it. The thought of traveling for a day and a half to get home to BC without one was kind of nauseating. Olivia is way to active to just hang on to, and carrying her for long periods of time doesn’t work either. I kept looking at our calendar and the visitors we had scheduled to come in and knew that if we could travel in August our window was closing rapidly. I got an email from a woman that visited last year and she told me that she was bringing a BIG group in to Canaan and asked if they could bring anything. She was a trooper and brought in a couple suitcases of stuff for us, and the stroller I ordered. (Thanks again Kris!)

Do you know how challenging it can be to buy a stroller while living overseas? I mean, part of that challenge was self imposed because I had certain requirements.

  • I didn’t want to spend a lot of money because we’ll really only be using it when we go on vacations.
  • It had to be lightweight.
  • It had to be fairly compact because we don’t have room for a behemoth stroller hanging around our house, and who wants to be packing one of those around anyway?
  • It had to last for a few years, as in, have a good weight limit
  • It had to be made for tall people, which pretty much eliminated the cheap umbrella stroller from Walmart.
  • It had to be moderately durable because we do want to be able to use it when we go home, camping, and for traveling.

Yes, lots of things. But I found one and the good news is I love it and Olivia loves is. She loves it so much that after we tried it out and she went out to play and came back in to find it put away she had a little melt down. I was THE worst parent every for putting away her stroller.

What I loved most was her face when she saw it. Kris’ group arrived later and in the middle of a rain storm. I ran up to Canaan to pick up some papers from her and was able to bring back all our stuff at the same time. Olivia was already asleep so she didn’t know. We had talked about getting a big stroller (she has an old doll stroller) and how we would use it when we went to Canada. Wednesday morning I was in our storage room putting some things away and she peeked around me and saw it. She looked at me, and back at the stroller. Then at me again as though she was saying, “Is that what I think that is?” It was really cute.

Okay, it’s almost time for breakfast and I have an unhappy toddler hanging off my leg.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

