Going Private

Hi Everyone,

It’s very difficult for me to be writing this post. When I started blogging in 2005 I didn’t even really know what a blog was. I wanted a place to sort of journal about life here. I didn’t even really tell people about it at first. I was shy. Eventually people started reading and this whole thing developed into a place where I/we could really share about our lives here. Chris and I have always believed in being “real” about who we are, the difficulties in life, the fun things etc. We want people to know the realities of living in a place like Haiti. It’s not always easy, people are not always kind, people do not always want you to be there.

We have many wonderful and supportive readers. People who truly care about us and the mission. People who come here to find out how they can be praying for us. People who email us if we haven’t posted to see if everything is okay. We are SO grateful for you. The encouragement you have given us means more than we have words for.

Unfortunately, when you put yourself out there in internet land there are risks. People may disagree with you, which is fine with us. But, some take it further and can use our vulnerability to hurt us. Recently, this has been our case. There are people that are trying to use the information that we have put on the blog, information that we have shared in an attempt to say, “Hey, we’re human and sometimes we screw up and make mistakes but we’re trying,” to hurt us and the mission. Often in these situations what people forget is that what IS shared here is really only a small percentage of how we do life, of how we handle situations and of who we really are. Consider that we may post a couple times each week, and each post may touch on one or two aspects of life or our thoughts. Each week contains 168 hours. That’s a lot of time that doesn’t get represented here. A lot of thoughts that never get shared. Yet, some people have a false reality of how much they know about us and how we deal with life. There is no accounting for the things we do not share. There are times where we do not share things for personal safety reasons. There are times where we do not share things out of respect for others involved. There are times where we do not share things because they are too hard or heartbreaking or disappointing or would be received wrongly about the culture etc. Sometimes we just don’t have the energy.

After a lot of consideration and discussion Chris and I feel that it’s best that the blog go private. I hate that. It makes me incredibly sad. But, it’s the healthy thing for us to do right now. On June 22 (one week from today) we will be private and only those that have been granted access will have access.

If you would like to continue journeying with our family through the blog you can email me at lesliedrolling@gmail.com to request access. Please do so in the next week so we can get you all set up. When you email me please include your full name, email address, and just one line about how you connected with us and why you want to keep reading.

For those of you that read because you’re more interested in mission activities and just like the personal connection we are working at launching a Clean Water for Haiti blog. Chris and I will contribute regularly, the Craigs will contribute. We may hear from some of our board members from time to time, and we’ll invite visitors to share their experiences as well. I’ll have more launch info about that later this week. We want it to be a place where people can connect with our staff, the work of the mission and Haiti.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Going Private

  1. Hi Leslie,

    I came to your blog in the aftermath of the earthquake through my college friend Ben. (your BIL) I have been following along since, and have been interested in your life, as I myself am an expat in a foreign country (however, my life is quite different in Europe!!). So I just want to wish you all the best of luck with your mission, with your family, and with everything in life.

    People on the Internet suck. :-P

    all the best
    Stacy :-)

  2. Hey Les. Sorry to hear that some people are ruining things for others. I’m sad to hear that you are being hurt by them. We love you guys and support you always. I love reading your blog and knowing that you guys are ok. I also like to know when you need extra prayers and support. Maybe its a good thing you are going private, you don’t need the bad apples.
    Kelly

  3. I’ll miss checking your blog first thing every morning and will look forward to learning someday that you got to cross a border with your lovely baby girl. I’m not connected to you by friend or faith (I’m an atheist) but your writing moved me and I admire you both. Keep on…

Leave a Comment

