Adoption update

Several have asked if we’ve made any more progress. Yes, sort of.

Apparently getting excited about being ‘legal’ was a tiny bit presumptuous. After we got more info we found out that part of that final legalization was a double check with all the offices/ministries involved to make sure everything was in fact taken care of and everyone was okay with it. THEN they do the birth certificate extract from Archives.

Well, Chris has seen the documents stating that we are in fact all legal. BUT, there is a problem, a common one actually, with getting the Archives extract done. And because this is Haiti we are not surprised. We are working on it and hopefully will have some news soon. From there we get to go on to the passport stage.

It just always feels like one more thing. I will be very happy when we’re all done and we don’t ever have to think about papers moving through another office or hitting another road block.

That’s the update,

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Adoption update

  1. Leslie, I was thinking that when you post news that is somewhat discouraging you might not get a lot of feedback. I nearly just moved on to my next message myself. Then I thought I would let you know that my impulse to move on wasn’t directed at you but rather a reaction to the big sigh that I let out, the shrug of my shoulders and thoughts about the opportunity for bribery at every turn in this process. So here I am, reading, praying and fighting the impulse to move on to something brighter. You remain in my prayers as do the peoples and bureaucracies of Haiti.

    • Thanks Barb,
      We actually aren’t feeling super discouraged. I think we’re at the place where we anticipate that nothing will be easy, and that there will probably be “one more thing”. Until the passport is done. And then there will be no more things :) “And oh what a day of rejoicing that will be…”

Leave a Comment

