Loved This

Just read this blog post and thought I would share it with you – So How Busy Are You Really?

People always ask us what we miss about living in North America, and what we like about living in Haiti. That post hit the nail on the head with one thing I love about being here in Haiti. I’ve really realized since living here how easy it is to get stuck in that trap and then you flop into bed at night wondering why you’re doing all of it, or at least I did. I have also never figured out the need to cram children into multiple after-school activities, often on the same day. Just never got it. When I was a kid I did figure skating and AWANA. And then I spent the rest of my time playing outside, or in, with other neighborhood kids. And I grew up to be a socially capable, intelligent (at least I think so) person. And I went to college. And I know what to do when I have unplanned free time. Don’t mean to offend anyone, just sharing my thoughts. I just don’t understand why people want to be running from activity to activity at the expense of family time and calmness. Maybe that’s just me though.

My thoughts from Haiti this morning.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Loved This

  1. I so totally agree! AWANA is my kid’s only regular outside activity, and they love it and excel in it, doing all their books and all the extra activities. Most of the kids in their Trek class do not even get far into their books, and we were speculating this is because they have so much school and then outside activies and homework. A fellow homeschool mom who is a good friend of mine has her kids in Scouts, AWANA, two musical intstruments each and two sports each! They are never home! We love being at home with our pets and taking walks in the woods and cooking. My kids can entertain themselves for hours – even at 12 and 13 playing imaginative games with plastic animals or acting out scenes from stories of their own design or writing stories, making things, drawing. They do well socially with any age and I believe are better off! I think that way of life is almost extinct here!

  2. thanks for sharing that. I sooo agree with you that most people and their kids are over-programmed and don’t know what to do if they’re not “busy”. what a pity.

  3. I read once that “the busy” is our way of avoiding real contemplation–the type of introspection that comes from quiet meditative time. You are on to something; pass that on to your daughter.

Leave a Comment

