Stroll, stroll, strollin’

So, this morning I plugged in my treadmill so I could get a walk in and all it said was “7”. I’m not sure what that means, but it certainly wasn’t what it was supposed to say. Normally it greets me with a happy “beeeeeeeeeeeeep” and gets it’s display all warmed up and ready to tell me how few calories I’ve burned, even though I’m sweating like a pig (how bad to pigs really sweat, anyway?)

I called Chris in to look at it, which is always my go to plan after I haven’t managed to fix or resolve whatever problem I have myself. Plugged it in. 7. Unplugged. Plugged it in. 7. And we stood there staring at it. Chris suggested that we get the same guy to fix it that did it the last time. But then followed that by saying, “But, I don’t think that will really work. And if it does work, then for how long?” We have some unstable power issues so it’s not abnormal for electronics to get fried.

Wait! Hold on! Yes, I have a treadmill. I am a missionary with a treadmill. I have a treadmill because our house is very close to the national highway where buses and trucks go by very fast and there is not much of a shoulder. On the walking paths you hit rivers in whichever direction you go and the ground is rough enough in most places that a sprained ankle or face plant would not be unheard of. So yes, I have a treadmill. And today it yelled “7!” at me.

I was bummed. I’ve just been getting back on the exercise bandwagon and this seriously throws a wrench in my wheel. So frustrating. After some chatting Chris came up with an idea, and after a phone call I was on my way. I threw (okay, not threw) Olivia into the car, along with her stroller, which she was very excited about, and headed down to Club Indigo.

Club Indigo has a walking path that eventually turns into a dirt service road that borders their property. My friend Lorraine is one of the managers there and she said I could come whenever I want to use the path/road to get some exercise. Olivia and I did the loop today and it was fun. It’s at least a mile, probably a little bit more. Part of it borders the beach, another part goes by swamp with rushes and birds, and another through an arch of trees. It was a fun way to get in some exercise and get out with Liv. I think I might give it a whirl a couple times a week. I love discoveries like this that make life feel a little bit more “normal”.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Stroll, stroll, strollin’

  1. What an excellent idea and what a wonderful place to stroll! And great reason to get you away for some one-on-one time with Liv. Enjoy those times!

  2. That’s so awesome. Good for you, Leslie for not letting “life in Haiti” (aka This Is Haiti) ruin your plan! Hope you can bring the treadmill back to life. If not, it sounds like the loop at Club Indigo is a fantastic outing for you and Liv.

Leave a Comment

