Love it

Yesterday afternoon, after a nice little nap where I actually fell asleep (a rarity – I’m a sucky napper) we decided to go for a walk at Indigo as a family. When we left the house it was sprinkling and I was anticipating that we’d get wet, but by the time we got there things had let up. We had fun walking and exploring as a family. It’s seriously like a breath of fresh air for us. I know there are people that come here and LOVE being out in the community and all the sights and smells etc. But, after many years of living in it and being surrounded by it, it can be so refreshing to find places that are peaceful, where there aren’t any other people (almost and impossibility here) and where you can have a small bit of what feels “normal”. It was overcast, there was a slight breeze and we really, really enjoyed ourselves. I’ve walked the loop twice on my own with Liv in the last week, but Chris saw things that I just hadn’t paid attention to because I was focused on the exercise part of it. We saw mangroves growing right next to the road we were on, flowers, ducks, trees FULL of white egrets, cranes, tasted some early kineps and lots of other little family exploring things. We followed our walk up with drinks where we met some new people and visited with friends at the resort. It was a fun evening.

Today has been one of those rare “sweet” days. It was overcast this morning, which meant things were a bit darker. Which meant we all slept in a bit. By sleeping in I really mean we slept, or that the house was quiet, until about 6 am. Usually our alarm goes off at around 5 am, so anything after 5:30, especially with a toddler in the house, is a treat. We had a yummy breakfast, and then because it was still overcast, and was for most of the day, we hunkered down and watched three movies in a row. Yes, three. During some cleaning this last week I finally found my crochet hooks, so I crocheted Liv a toque (that’s knitted cap for those of you from the US), pom pom and all. The best part is that for probably the first time in my life I stayed in my pj’s until 4 pm. It was cool enough to do it and it was so nice. This evening I made pizza and we invited a friend over for a nice little visit. I love it when we have friends over and they get excited about a meal. It makes me happy to be able to love people with food. Phrases like, “Ahh, I can’t remember the last time I had pizza!” make me really happy :)

Tomorrow we are off to church in the mountains and then who knows. Maybe more time in my pj’s…

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Love it

  1. Sounds like a much needed “normal” day! Did you perchance take your cameral along? I’m sure most of your “stalkers” would LOVE to see some fotos of the sceneray there. Sounds like you’re enjoying your “paradise” walks!

Leave a Comment

