The Hard Stuff

I don’t know a missionary that likes to talk about finances. In fact, I have had many conversations with people that have been thinking about going out into the mission who have been hesitant to take the step simply because they were afraid to ask people to support them financially.

I get it. It’s hard to put yourself out there and tell people that you feel called to go to serve somewhere, but to do that you need their money. I don’t like it either, but I do believe that it’s a Biblical mandate for the Church to support those who “go out”. You read about it over and over again in the New Testament. It was the responsibility of the Church to send. Sometimes that was through encouragement, sometimes through prayer, and sometimes by helping meet the physical needs of those going.

When I was getting ready to move to Haiti I had some very wise people tell me that it wasn’t my job to worry about asking for finances, or even to worry about where they would come from. My job was simply to be obedient and to step out, and along the way let people know of my needs. The rest, is God’s job. It’s his job to put those needs on peoples hearts. It’s his job to open ears to hear those needs. Not mine. I was also told it was a blessing for others to be able to support and that it wasn’t my job to decide ahead of time whether people would participate. Doing so could rob them of an opportunity to be doing what God wanted them to be doing.

We don’t often, or in fact hardly ever talk about our financial needs, especially not here on the blog. But, that said, we’re seeing things taper off. We know a great part of this is that we haven’t been home to be visible to people for a long time. Let’s face it. Everyone is busy and living life and if you don’t see familiar faces and hear familiar voices you just disconnect. It’s never intentional, it just happens. Chris and I have seen ourselves disconnect from people simply because we live here and sometimes we just run out of things that we have in common with people. Not being present is a problem. That’s one of the reasons we so desperately want to go home. We want to be in the presence of those who are our support base.

We need help financially. There, I said it. I’m putting that need out there and leaving it there. Many of you have been praying for the processing of our adoption. Because we are getting to the end of things there are a lot more adoption fees that we need to pay. It’s a bit of a drain, especially when there isn’t much coming in. Also, when we think about taking a sabbatical (because that’s really what it is) we know we will need finances in place to make some of that possible.

If you would like to know more about how you can be supporting our family through prayer, please visit our PRAY FOR US page.

If you would like to know how you can be financially helping us do what we do, please visit the SUPPORT US page. All the info for where donations can be sent is there, and all donations are tax deductible.

Thanks for loving us on this crazy journey!

~Leslie, Chris & Olivia

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “The Hard Stuff

  1. You are doing exactly the right thing Leslie. You are letting people know you have a need.
    I would say, if you can’t go, then send. The bible is pretty clear on that and I guarantee you, you will feel more a part of the mission than ever before. Sending will become a gift to you as well as to the Rollings.

    Chris is possibly the most frugal person I know, Leslie follows his lead and they live a life that honors those who supply their financial needs.

    A church in WA accepts support payments for Chris and that makes it a charitable deductible donation. You can even do automatic withdrawal which is exceptionally simple.

    Send support, tell your friends it is a great way to get someone new involved. Honest you may be surprised. Get your kids involved, they will find a connection to the family and then to the work they do and to the needs of the Haitian people.

    Finally, God calls us to do this.

    Barb J

  2. Hello I know you don’t know me but have continued to follow your blog since the quake. Anyways, I will definitely send some $. I am sorry it is not substantial but hope that it helps. With that said I felt compelled to write because as I write this I am currently watching a program called “One Water”. It is being narrated bt Martin Sheen. I live in Huntington Beach, California. Such a great program! It is telling about the commodity of water. Clean water is the difference between the haves and have nots! It should be a basic human right! it is so political! I have verizon for my cable service and this show is being shown on “planet green”. I thought this may be of interest to Chris and yourself. God bless and praying that all 3 of you ate able to return to Canada for a much needed break.

    • Hi Candis,

      You can give through Paypal via the mission website (www.cleanwaterforhaiti.org on the Donate page). If you make a specific donation to Chris and I please let me know (lesliedrolling@gmail.com) so we can have them funnel it to our support. If you aren’t worried about a tax receipt I can give you our direct Paypal account info. If you need more info email me. Thanks!

Leave a Comment

