Food Week 2010: Breakfast

Welcome to Food Week here on the blog!

Today I want to talk about breakfast. When I first moved to Haiti I was not a breakfast eater. If I had coffee I was okay, until mid-morning when I would be ravenous. When Chris and I got married he asked if we could eat breakfast together in the mornings. At first I was not excited about this. I was one of those people that usually needed a good hour and a cup of coffee before I was able to do more than read email. But, I gave it a go, and now it’s so much a part of our morning routine.

I want to share a more recent discovery that we’re really enjoying right now. Our normal breakfast consists of some type of eggs and either bacon or sausage. A good protein boost first thing in the morning. For years I was cooking eggs the same way and finally realized that I wasn’t really enjoying them. After some trial and error I realized my favorite way to eat eggs is poached. I played around a bit and came up with the following breakfast treat.

POACHED EGGS ON TOAST WITH HERBS

Ingredients (per serving):

1 slice of bread (we like whole wheat)
1-2 tbsp spreadable cream cheese
1 sprig of fresh dill
4 slices of a medium sized tomato
2 poached eggs
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

1. Poach your eggs to desired doneness. My mom gave me one of those egg poachers with the little cups that sit in the boiling water. It’s fabulous. I put a very small dollop of butter in each cup to help the eggs come out easier.
2. Toast bread to desired toastedness.
3. Spread cream cheese on bread.
4. Using kitchen scissors snip dill over cream cheese to evenly season the surface.
5. Put tomatoes on next, covering the surface of the bread.
6. Put poached eggs on top of tomatoes. Cut a bit more dill to make it pretty, and season with salt and pepper to taste.

When I first discovered this it was in an attempt to try and use up some herbed cream cheese that I found here. It was GOOD. You can play around and find herbs that you like. We’ve had it with Herbes de Provence and it’s just as yummy, but a bit different. More savory. The dill is “fresh”. You could also just by dill or herbed cream cheese.

Play around. Chris doesn’t like tomatoes so I don’t put them on his. I personally like tomatoes on my Eggs Benedict and this is like a lighter version of that. I also like my eggs soft poached, and Chris likes his hard poached. I love it when I cut them up and they run all over the place.

Just a warning, this is a bit addicting.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Food Week 2010: Breakfast

  1. Leslie you are making me hungry already and its only day 1….This does sound really good though. I sometimes hate trying to figure out what to have for breakfast and this sounds so good that I think I may just give it a try one day next week.
    Thanks fo sharing this one.

  2. Ummmm…sounds absolutely yummy and a great twist to the traditinal Eggs Benny we love….sounds like it packs less calories and choletral that the original version…thanks for sharing your culinary secrets….must try!….Mom L.

  3. I am married to one of those “skinny boys” too. And if I’ve learned anything in 20 years of marriage, it’s that you have to keep them well-fed with protein. They just don’t have any fat reserves to draw on! My hubby gets extremely brain-dead if he gets hungry. This looks like an excellent idea.

    Terri U.

  4. This is one of my favorite breakfast meals. I started poaching eggs a couple of years a go. I was trying to be “fancy”. And realized it was so easy!
    Keep the yummy recipes coming!

Leave a Comment

