Food Week 2010: Lunch

Todays offering is a simple re-do of a tried and true classic – the tuna sandwich. I got this idea from Sara not long after they moved here to Haiti and marveled at her ability to sneak in the veggies, and the fact that her kids, and my husband gobbled up the sandwich. I don’t know exactly what she put in hers, but I’ve taken her veggie sneaking skills and combined them with my own preferences, as you should do.

SNEAKY TUNA SANDWICH

Ingredients (for 3-4 sandwiches):

6-8 slices of whole wheat bread
2 cans of tuna (I prefer tuna in water whenever possible, but it’s your choice)
3-4 tbsp mayo of your choice (adjust quantity to desired moistness)
1 tbsp prepared mustard
1/3 c grated carrot (that’s the sneaky part)
1/2 tsp dried dill

Instructions:

In a bowl combine all ingredients and mix well. Spread on bread and serve.

Sara served hers with tomato slices and lettuce as well which was yummy. I’ve also used some of that spreadable cream cheese from yesterdays post on one side of the sandwich and it was tasty too. The thing I love about this is the subtle crunch the grated carrot gives. It’s kind of surprising because tuna sandwiches can be kind of mushy. Matt, our volunteer that was with us in 2008 introduced me to putting mustard in the mix and it was so good! I’m going to tell you how to use mustard in another surprising way later this week.

Enjoy your lunch!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Food Week 2010: Lunch

  1. I load my tuna with celery…can you get celery in Haiti?? I need some crunch too!! also love it with a sprinkle or 5 of cayenne pepper or green onion or both!

  2. Your tuna sandwich sounds really yummy. The carrot addition is just perfect for texture. I have used curry powder in tuna salad and for fans of curry it was a hit.

    Barb

Leave a Comment

