I Told You So

As of a couple weeks ago Olivia was officially potty trained. As in, does everything on the potty. She had this thing about pooping in her diapers, so we bribed her with a cute pair of underwear and told her she would get her “special panties” if she went poop on the potty three times in a row. It worked. What can I say? The kid is a clothes horse.

So, around that same time Chris went to church one weekend without me and came home and announced that I needed to teach Olivia to pee outside like the other kids. I asked how he expected me to demonstrate that for her. Apparently I was not funny. I told him that I didn’t want to teach her to pee outside until it was absolutely necessary. Like when we went to Canada and were camping in the sticks.

About a week and a half ago the two of them came down from being up on the roof. Chris will take a book up and read in the hammock while Liv “waters” the plants. She’s actually very good at this for a two and a half year old. Anyway, they came back down and Chris announced that she had to pee while up there, so he let her and then they just washed it away. Fabulous. I asked how she had figured out how to do it. “Well, I just sort of told her.” Great.

Last Sunday, while at church Olivia told Chris that she needed to pee. He ushered her outside and she joined the ranks of so many that relieve themselves in public here. When they got home (I was home sick with some nasty throat infection thingie) Chris told me about it and was basically gloating like the father of a high school graduate. Yes people, he was that proud. It was at this point that I shared with him the fact that Olivia is only two and a half (in case he missed that) and impressionable (in case he missed that too) and that while I understood his logic, because it did make some sense, that we needed to be prepared for her to start dropping trou in the yard just because she could. He laughed at me and told me I was overreacting. Mmhmm.

Monday. Monday afternoon we were sitting around in the driveway with our guests all visiting. Chris decided to take one of them over to the garden to look at some of his fruit trees. Olivia wanted to go, so she did. A little while later they all came back and Chris proudly announced that she had gone pee in the garden because he was too lazy to bring her back to the house. Yeah. Great. I again reminded him about the impressionable thing. About not having a good filter to know when to go up and when to pee wherever. Etc.

A little while later O announces she needs to go. So I scoop her up and carry her up to our apartment. The whole way up the stairs she keeps saying, “Nooo! I want to pee on the dirt!” And we have the chat about going pee on the potty, no matter what Daddy says.

She went back out to play, I went to cook dinner, everyone else stayed outside visiting. When they all came up for supper one of the guys said something about how funny it was that Olivia, while playing in the yard with Abe and Noah, just stopped to water the lawn. Nice.

Tuesday. Tuesday Chris took our guests for a hike, Peter took a couple of them on deliveries, Sara went to Medika Manba, and I stayed home. All of the kids were up at our place playing for a few hours. In the midst of that while I was in the process of making soup for lunch, Olivia comes in the kitchen and says, “Mommy, I peed,” as shes tugging at her underwear.

M: “Did you have an accident?”
O: “I peed.”
M: Trying to do some sleuthing. “Where did you have your accident?” And then I start walking through the house to locate the place of the “incident”
O: “In my bedroom.”
M: Seeing a wet spot that has obviously been wiped up on her bedroom floor. “Oh, you tried to wipe it up! What did you use?”
O: Points to the dirty dish towel hanging on the side of her laundry basket.
M: “Okay, lets change you.” I then proceed to help he take off her undies, and realize that they actually aren’t wet. Hmmm.
M: “Olivia, did you have an accident?”
O: “I peed!”
M: “Did you take off your panties before you peed?”
O: Very proudly, “Mmhmm. I take off my panties and I go like this (squats) and I peed!”

Fabulous.

We then had a chat about how when we’re at home we always use the potty when we have to pee. And that from now on not using the potty to pee will result in getting a time out.

And then Daddy came home and we had a chat about how when we’re at home we always use the potty when we have to pee. And that from now on not using the potty to pee will result in a time out.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “I Told You So

  1. I’m with you on this. Chris doesn’t see a problem because he is a guy. Guys are genetically programmed to pee outdoors, especially if there is a tree nearby. If there is a choice between a privy two feet away and a tree 20 feet away, guys go for the tree.

  2. I’ve had that one with some dayhome kids. They seem to think that the backyard is their personal potty. Good luck, but at least you know she’s ‘Canadian camping approved’!

Leave a Comment

