Canadian Conversations

Friday as we were getting ready for nap time and Liv and I were sitting in the rocking chair she said, “And what else we do in Canada?”

Apparently this is now one of her favorite conversations to be having. I listed off a bunch of stuff and she just kept asking me what else there was to do. I finally said, “Maybe we’ll get to go shopping,” and her whole face lit up. I instantly thought, “Uh oh. Not what I was hoping for.” I decided to ask her what we should buy if we go shopping. Her list?

Eggs. Meat. Cheese. Milk. Eggs. Bread. Apples.

It took everything in me to not be giggling. I mean, how many other parents have a child who lists off grocery items after the word “shopping”. The realization hit me that Olivia has never gone “shopping” anywhere BUT the grocery store. She doesn’t even know that you can buy clothes in a store. Or toys. Just eggs, meat, cheese, bread…

Then I wondered how many years of vacations home we could swing before she did actually realize that you can buy toys and clothes and all sorts of fun things in stores, not just groceries.

Oh, and I have to admit that I was secretly happy to know that she is easily entertained. “Hey, wanna go grocery shopping???” And she would be all. over. it.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Canadian Conversations

  1. Dear Leslie and Chris,

    I was wondering if I could have your permission to use several paragraphs of Chris’s description of what happened to him after the earthquake on my blog. I am blogging and doing a fundraising challenge for Heartline Ministries to build houses for homeless families in Haiti. You can read all about what I am doing at pound4pound4haiti.blogspot.com

    I would also like to put a link from your blog to mine, if that would be OK with you. I’ve been a devoted reader since the earthquake—found you from the Livesays. I plan to come to Haiti in November. I’ll wait to hear from you on the permissions.

    Terri Urban
    Colorado Springs
    Colorado Springs

  2. What I meant to say in my previous comment was that I would like to put a link FROM my blog TO yours. Whether you want it to go the other way or not, is totally up to you.

    Terri

  3. I live just north of you in the Turks and Caicos, both of my girls took years (at least 5 or 6 years old) before they really realized that when they went to a toy store there was a way to take things home. they would go in, play and look for 30-40 minutes and then just like when they were at a friends or at school they would put it back and we would leave. (then grandma showed them the light so to speak and put something in the cart and it came home..) i do have to say that now at 6 and 9 years old, they are very thoughtful about what they need, what they have (and what will fit in the suitcase!). Can’t wait to hear of the plans to go north…praying it will be soon!

Leave a Comment

