So Many Things

I thought it was appropriate to let Chris share the news about Jabez. She was his dog. When I first moved to the mission Chris would pass many evenings sitting on the deck watching the water, and Jabez would alway be right under his chair. She was one of those big dogs that didn’t ever realize that she’d grown up. She would let Chris put her up on his lap and rub the heck out of her belly, tongue hanging out to the side of her mouth. She loved our family in all the best ways, and welcomed anyone we welcomed. She defended us when needed. Let the neighborhood know who was in charge. Let our baby crawl all over her and never failed to let us know when she needed a little love. She was a leaner, as in, she would lean on your legs just to let you know she was there, but you would almost fall over because she was bigger than she thought. She hated thunder and fireworks. Anyone who visited the mission knew what a sweetheart she was and many of our visitors would ask how she was doing.

We knew that she was getting older and last year decided to get a puppy so she could pass on her good traits. Unfortunately Daisy got sick and didn’t make it past six months. Now we have Annie and Molly (the Craig’s puppy) and Jabez was already teaching Annie how to herd rocks, which I loved. Just last week I looked at Jabez from behind and noticed that the hair on her rear was going very grey. She was an old woman in dog years. She lived a good life. She loved it here at the mission, and she is very much missed. Peter said that all of the workers were talking about her being gone yesterday and in their own way sort of had a verbal memorial. For some, they thought she was a good dog because they’ve been here for years and knew she really was a good dog. Others, they thought she was a good dog because she didn’t ever bite them :) I’m glad she went in her sleep. She deserved a nice peaceful death like that, under a shady tree, close to her people. We’ll miss you sweet girl.

Getting the news that Jabez passed yesterday right after going to the Embassy was hard, but we knew she was getting older and knew that day would come. I’m glad we were still in the country rather than having her die while we were away. We were able to see her when we got home, and Chris and Peter buried her under some of our fruit trees in the garden. I think the closure is good for us.

Yesterday we were so happy. I came home and after a minor pee crisis with Liv got right at getting our travel arrangements taken care of. In under an hour everything was squared away and I was calling my Mom to share the news. I can’t believe we’re going home. I mean our other home. Olivia gets mad if we say we’re going home when we’ve just left the house. Trying to explain that we really have multiple homes to a two year old who has only ever known one of them is a little hard. Last night I was so wiped out from not sleeping well the night before that I was in bed by 7pm. And asleep not long after. Crazy!

Today has been full of crossing things off lists and getting stuff set for our departure. I brought all of our luggage up to wash it off. It’s been sitting for a couple of years – it was a little dusty. Liv came in halfway through and saw the bags all over the place and said, “That’s my suitcase?” and pointed to one of the bags. I told her they were for all of us. “NO! It’s for MEEE!” Apparently someone is excited about going to Canada.

Time to go attack the list again.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “So Many Things

  1. So So HAPPY for you all!!! I can imagine how hard it is for you to even concentrate on these last few days before leaving! I can’t wait to follow you all to Canada and hear the stories as Olivia experiences Canada, colder weather, and SHOPPING!!! Please post pictures! I hope you get to meet with everyone you had hoped. Enjoy this tme away together reconnecting as a family! How long will you be away? Again…….praising God for answering prayers for you all! Mandy

Leave a Comment

