What I’m Excited About

Now that we’re only two sleeps away from getting out of Dodge I’m thinking a lot about the things I’m looking forward to.

  • Quiet. Haiti is not quiet. Ever. In all the years that I’ve been here I have never been able to find a place where there are no people. Even up in the mountains when all you can see is scrub brush, someone will pop up and you wonder where they came from. There is always noise here. Even in the middle of the night, when you would think things would be all quiet there are still roosters, and other random sounds. The trucks on the highway start going by around 4 am. If there is country power people turn on stereos as loud as they can, all night long. There is never quiet here. In Canada, there is quiet.
  • In Canada church is only about an hour and a half long. This morning church was 4 hours long. By the end of it I felt ready to explode from the combo of having to pee, my butt aching and just being fidgety. Don’t get me wrong, I like church. 4 hours is just a very long time. Oh, and I’m pretty sure we had three different sermons. Or maybe it was two and then a reiteration of the two.
  • I am looking forward to being cold. Or at least not sweating all the time. There are cold climate people and there are warm climate people. I am and have always been a cold climate person. My brain works better when it’s cool, I am less cranky when it’s cool, I retain less water when it’s cool… I like wearing jeans and layers. And right now it’s humid as a nice big weather front looms over us. I wish it would just open up and rain and put me out of my sweaty misery.
  • I am looking forward to walking. On sidewalks. You don’t appreciate these simple features of modern society until you no longer have them, or really any flat surface to walk on. The idea of being able to go walking with a stroller is something I’ve been looking forward to doing in Canada for, oh, a couple years now.
  • Produce. I mean, we get good fresh produce here in Haiti, and really you can’t compare to fresh fruit off the tree, but things like apples, navel oranges, BIG peppers, different kinds of lettuce, fresh mushrooms… oh, going “shopping” will be fun.
  • Cheese. We’re a cheese family. Nuff said.
  • Lack of stress. There are things that are stressful wherever you go, but in Haiti it’s like you’re living in a pot of stress all the time. It’s not always that there are specific things that are stressing you, it’s that everything here just requires so much more effort, never works right and can take so much energy to accomplish that a person is usually living in some sort of stress state. Getting away from it gives you a time to step back, re-prioritize and re-group. It feels good and I’m looking forward to that.
  • Dates with my husband. I think in the last year we’ve had a few nights without Olivia, but I don’t really remember them. It’s been a long time… oh wait, never… since we’ve been able to go on regular dates. I don’t even really know what that’s like.
  • Having a support  base as parents. We have some great friends here, but we are all busy with our various ministries and it’s not easy to just drop Liv off somewhere if we need a big of time. Living at my parents house will mean we have parents as a back up and I’m excited for that. To have someone say “Hey, want me to watch the kid while you go do (fill in the blank)?” Um, yes. Yes I do.
  • Sleeping in. Do you know how hard it is to sleep in when it gets light at 5 am and warm not long after that? Yeah. Looking forward to catching up on a few years sleep.
  • Coffee + pyjamas + my parents kitchen.
  • Hot showers all day long, not just when the sun has been shining a lot.
  • Drying my clothes in a dryer where they come out feeling fluffy, not crunchy.
  • Lines on the road. Lines are boundaries. Visual boundaries that tell people what side of the road to drive on. Not just all over the road as they feel like. I believe that driving might actually once again be a pleasurable experience where my blood pressure doesn’t go through the roof.
  • “Pot holes”. Yeah. Haiti pot holes swallow a car. Canada pot holes hardly make you feel anything.
  • Friends. Just “being” with friends.
  • Being able to accomplish more than one thing in a day. And knowing when I get up in the morning that it is possible to accomplish all those things on the list in one day.
  • Seeing my daughter discover a whole new world.
  • Doing things as a family. And actually having things to go and do as a family other than sitting around and watching a show.

There’s a lot more that can go on the list, but we’ll save that for another post.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “What I’m Excited About

  1. Girl! You have SO earned this trip to Canada. Hope you freeze your butt off just for old times sake. I will sure miss your postings, but I and the rest of us who love you will survive. Go Girl Go!

    • Don’t worry Earl, you’ll still get to hear from me on a regular basis. There’s no way we could go to Canada after years of waiting and not let people know what we’re up to. That might be considered cruel and unusual punishment to some.

      • yes Leslie,
        that would be considered cruel and unusual punishment with many (I think all) of your readers who have been with you on this journey and can’t wait to hear all about your adventures with Olivia in Canada!

        can’t wait to hear that you guys are here on Canadian soil!

  2. Your eagerness to land in Canada and your weariness of Haiti beg one question: Will you return to Haiti?

    Is it possible to minister to people who live in the developed world?

    Safe journey. Enjoy home.

    • Hi Susanna,
      We are eager to be in Canada and we are weary right now, but Haiti is still our home and we’re only taking a sabbatical right now so we can go back and be more effective. Your question about ministering in the developed world is a good one, and I don’t really know the answer. I was a youth pastor before I moved to Haiti and what I can say is that there is a drastic difference.

Leave a Comment

