Pre-Weekend Round Up

We’re having us some good fun here in BC!

  • Wednesday I made 8 pies – 5 rhubarb and 3 with some of those apples we picked. 8 pies in the freezer = happy Chris :)
  • Yesterday I painted a bedroom. The one we’re sleeping in at my parents house actually. It was my brothers old room and was a dark blue before. Now it’s a beautiful butter yellow. Literally, you could lose a block of butter if you stuck it to the wall. Chris has issues with really dark rooms, and mom hadn’t gotten to it yet when she was repainting a bunch of other rooms in the house so it was my little contribution and everyone is happy.
  • One thing we decided we wanted to be deliberate about with being here for several months was taking advantage of community events and services, especially the FREE ones. The neighbors let us know about a FREE program called Strong Start for kids from ages 0-5 at one of the local elementary schools. Every morning from 8:30-11:30 we can take Olivia to “school”. It’s basically like free preschool with the parents still there. She LOVES it. Chris has taken her three times this week. She gets to play in the classroom, they play games in the gym, go outside, have snacks. And did I mention it’s FREE? We can go as often as we want or as little as we want, and it’s drop in so we can stay as long or as little as we want. It’s been great because we can walk there, and if I have stuff to do at home it gives Chris something to do as well.
  • Today we’re heading out for the weekend. We’re meeting up with some friends at a cabin for the weekend and are really excited. Chris has known them for years as they all met in Haiti. I met them before I moved when they came for a visit while Chris was in town, they were at our wedding and we’ve seen them in Haiti since then. The fun thing is that we haven’t met their two little boys yet. Their oldest is about 8-9 months younger than Olivia. Should be a fun weekend!
  • We’re getting friend visits and mission “things” scheduled in. Its a good kind of busy.
  • Only one week until we see Auntie Abby! Oh, and until week get to celebrate Thanksgiving here in Canada. Mmmm. Haven’t celebrated Thanksgiving with the family since 2004.
  • My husband took me on a date last night. Usually in Haiti I’m the one that suggests a night out, but it really isn’t that exciting because the options are pretty much to go out and eat at one of the resorts and that’s it. It can also be a little hard to find a baby sitter :) I love that my parents are so into helping out with Liv and are loving their time with her. It gives us some freedom we haven’t had. On our first “official” date we went to the movies, then after went and got hot chocolate to go and sat on the dock of a local public beach and star gazed. It was fun last night to go back to the same theater and do the same thing, except sitting on the dock because it was covered in goose poop. It was the first time we’d been out together in I don’t remember how long, and we didn’t talk about mission work or Olivia at all. Olivia and Nanna had their own “date” night that included a dress up tea party and loading the dishwasher (these things are fun when you’re 2).

Time to go finish laundry, shower and get us packed up for the weekend. Hope you have a great weekend. I’m pretty sure we will :) Thank you again for all your prayers for our family. I feel like we’ve all been on this long journey together and I hope that you are celebrating all this fun right along with us. I know we wouldn’t bee here without the support of all of you.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Pre-Weekend Round Up

  1. I am enjoying your visit so much, and happy for Liv in going to “school”. Thank you for your wonderful blogs. Love, Aunt Sue.

Leave a Comment

