How Plans Change

One thing I like about our life is that it’s never boring. We think things are going one way and “WHOA!”, something happens and we find out we’re in fact going in another direction. And those directional changes mix things up a bit and keep things interesting. And, often I can see the blessing in them.

As I shared on here, I was “planning” on flying back into Haiti this week, on Tuesday in fact. The “plan” was that I would be there with a team from my home church. A team that we had been wanting to have come for about a year and a half. The “plan” was that I would be there with them, we would do all the normal Vision Trip type things, and then we would all come home together. (Are you getting annoyed yet with my over use of quotation marks?) It was a good “plan”.

But, as I shared, plans change, and sometimes the reasons are not what we expect them to be.

You see, two weeks ago I took two pregnancy tests and they came back positive before the control line even showed up. And yes, I cried like a baby. In a good way, of course. I was about 5 weeks pregnant and feeling good and we didn’t see a reason for me not to keep my plans to travel. Until the morning sickness hit last week.

With the last pregnancy I had no morning sickness. After doing a bunch of reading and talking to friends and family the consensus seems to be that morning sickness is a good sign that things are developing well. I should point out that when I say “morning sickness” I am in fact one of those lucky women who has it hit anywhere between 10 am and noon, and has it all. day. long. Sometimes it comes and goes, and sometimes it’s there all. day. long. And I don’t just get queasy, I get full on sick. BUT, we’re trying to take it as a good sign. So much so that when I announce my accomplishment of the hour Chris cheers me on and tells me I’m doing a great job. He’s so supportive that way. Sometimes he even tries to help the process by mention things that might make me gag. And then he gets lectured about how that’s not funny.

Soooo, last week. I was still planning on traveling, but was thinking constantly about how I was going to manage the sickness and the flights and the heat and putting on a smiley face while I was there. In the midst of one of my stomach emptying episodes while I was trying to convince myself that this truly was a great thing, this being sick, it was like a still, small voice said, “You know, you don’t need to go to Haiti.” And I realized it was true. All my reasons for wanting to go were fine, but they weren’t more important than taking care of myself at this time. And the truth was Peter and Sara would be fine hosting the team. It was all me wanting to be the one to show them our lives there, and being that hostess with the mostess and having that direct experience with “my people”. I had been looking forward to it, but it really was not the most important thing right now. So, I decided to stay home and be sick here instead. And I have complete peace about it. Yesterday we went and helped the team pack, and as much as it would be fun to be there with them, I know this is the best choice right now and I feel good about that.

So, that is our news. Olivia is going to be a big sister. We are feeling blessed. What is most amazing to me is God’s timing in things. We had been “trying but not trying” for several months. You know, not worrying about it and knowing we’d be happy if I got pregnant. We had said for the last couple years that when Liv’s adoption was done we would work on expanding the family. We knew we were getting close so we just stopped worrying about things and decided to let nature take it’s course. I love that I got pregnant when we were here. We have several months of vacation left and our stress level is almost at zero. Anyone who has had a miscarriage will tell you that those first few months are the hardest, because you’re always waiting for something to go wrong. We can be home during this time surrounded by people that care about us. I have access to good medical care. I have just felt really cared for and loved, rather than feeling scared and alone and unsure of this whole process. It’s such a blessing.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

10 thoughts on “How Plans Change

  1. Wonderful news! Absolutely take it easy, and keep the stress level down to a dull roar. I’ll be thinking of you and praying for you. Happy for all of you!

  2. What a blessing! I am so happy for you and your family. Morning sickness is a good sign! I’ve been teaching prenatal classes for 31 years and it’s always good to see a woman with morning sickness! What’s your due date? Don’t make me do the math :-)

    V

  3. WOW thats such exciting news!!!

    I hear ya on the all day long stuff – that was me with my daughter – not fun so we will definitely be remembering you in our prayers! Yes its good – its normal – but definitely not fun so you will get some extra prayers :)

    Glad you chose to do what was right for you and your family

  4. Congratulations!!!! We are so happy for you!!! And how exciting that you get to share this exciting time with your family!! We will be praying for you – for a healthy pregnancy and the safe arrival of a healthy baby!!

  5. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news! Sorry you don’t feel well. Morning sickness is no fun, but at least it doesn’t last that long. Praying for you. :)

  6. Congratulations! I am sure that you guys are SOOOO excited! Hang in there with the being sick stuff…it is a good sign. We had a miscarriage as well with our first pregnancy and I remember thinking that I was the only one..so it’s good that you are being so open about it. It does seem to make it harder to get “attached” but once I felt the first movements of Riley, my mind was set at ease. Pregnancy is one of God’s greatest miracles! Enjoy it, because it really does go by soooo fast! Blessings on you and the family! Olivia is going to be an awesome big sister!

  7. Hello and congrats. I must say, I am a bit confused about the ministry part. I started reading this blog because of the Haiti crisis and your (you and husband) experience helping out there. Since then, this blog has morphed in complete introspections about kids (and sometimes dogs). Of course, I realize your couple and family is very kid-orientated, but is this the measure of your missionary work ? a big happy family ? There is another post about what to say in a blog. If you have things to say about Haiti, I will be interested to read them. Thank you and God bless.

    • If you read back before the earthquake in January, you’ll actually find that this blog has always been about life, ministry, us, our family. I would encourage you to read back, maybe it will leave you feeling less like it’s “morphed” into something you weren’t anticipating. The whole reason we/I write is really just to share about life, our life. Some days that all about Haiti and the things we’re experiencing there, and other days it’s all about our family – because all of those things make up our life as it is now.

  8. Happy news–love it.

    Sorry about the sickness, I hear you. I remember kind of losing patience with my doctor when he said there was nothing that could be done for that symptom. I told him “It’s a looong time to be throwing up.” He agreed but it seems the medical profession hasn’t come up with a good solution. Keep on keepin’ on and it will get better.

    Sending prayers your way.
    Terri

Leave a Comment

