Happy Birthday to my Mister

Today marks the day my dear sweet husband was brought into this world. And the fun part is that he’s traveling this morning so he won’t even get a chance to read this until later, much later. That means I can share all sorts of gushing things about him with you and he can do NOTHING. Bwahahaha!

I really am a blessed woman. In the summer of 2003 Chris was brought into my life and I had one of those movie type moments where all things stopped for the briefest of seconds, though it felt like minutes slowly ticking by, and I heard that still small voice say, “This is the man you’re going to marry.” And then I thought I was being one of “those” girls that reads too much into things. Hmmm, still small voice, you were right. And I’m so glad.

When I look at my husband I see all the ways God has given both of us just what we needed in a partner. For me, I knew I needed to be with someone that challenged me. Chris and I are on the same page in all of the important ways like faith, family, moral outlook etc, but different enough that we help rub off the rough edges in each other when it comes to the details. We push each other, sometimes we grind against each other, but it always ends up being good. I equate us to really good homemade salad dressing. If you just let oil and vinegar sit in a bottle they push against each other, but when you shake them up they make really good dressing. We can push against each other, but we compliment each other so well too.

Honey, I am so glad God put you in my life and chose you for me. You are a man of integrity and character. I love your desire to do the right thing and it’s one of the things I most respect about you. I love the way you love me, especially when I’m not easy to love. I LOVE the father you are to our daughter. She knows she is so very loved by you. I love that you love us so openly and that you hope that’s a demonstration of your faith to others. I love that we are always grinding and learning and moving forward together. I love that having a strong marriage is so important to you. You really are one of the best things that has ever happened to me.

I hope that today you feel loved by us, though I’m guessing that won’t be hard since you have two ladies eagerly awaiting your return. One of which has already decided she will give you exactly three kisses, and four hugs. Mostly because that’s how many fingers she can successfully hold up. I think it’s safe to say that you’ll be smothered in love when you get home.

I hope you have a great day and that it doesn’t feel like you’re one year closer to being dead. Your words, not mine ;)

Happy Birthday!

~Love me

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my Mister

Leave a Comment

