Great Expectations

I don’t know about you, but we had a great Christmas. It was happy, mellow, relaxed, contained all the important bits and pieces and left us all feeling like we had Christmas hang-over. I think I’m still catching up on my sleep. That and having a baby sleeping on my bladder and a backache means I’m not getting a lot of consistent sleep these days. *Sigh*

Yes, it was good on all fronts. It was so fun having an almost three year old of the overly enthusiastic variety. She loved everything about Christmas, and there were no meltdowns, and a few too many pieces of a ginger bread house eaten. The house still goes through the “bomb went off” cycle a couple of times each day, and then it gets cleaned up. BUT, it’s not as bad as it could be.

Christmas aside, the thing I keep thinking about now is how ready I am to head back to Haiti. It’s funny, we always seem to go through this. If we’re home for a month or so the first week is all about coming down, then the relaxing and fun, and then about a week before we head back  we’re ansy and ready to go. It’s been about 3 1/2 months now and we’re at that ready, ansy stage. A month ago there was no way we were ready, but now, we’re ready.

It’s amazing how quick the switch happens. I think the build up to Christmas was off setting it a bit, and now that Christmas is over and we’re looking to the New Year I just want to move forward. And I think there’s a lot of things Chris and I are both just ready to get back to. We needed rest, we needed to be with family etc, but now that we’re a couple weeks away from going back, the other stuff is surfacing. I’m eager to get back to our home. Our house. Things have gone great living with my parents for the last almost four months, but we have our own home with our own things, our own beds, our own space, and I’m really starting to miss that. I’m looking forward to sleeping in my own bed again. To having my kid across the hall so that when I get up with her in the night I don’t have to go up two flights of stairs while trying not to fall over because I’m half asleep. Same thing with having to get up several times in the night with a full baby bladder. Wow, I didn’t really appreciate living in a single floor house until that special little part of pregnancy hit.

We’re missing the everyday things of our life. We miss our workers and the work. We miss that every day routine where we know what we have to do, and we miss the excitement of knowing we’re doing something that really counts and is really helping people each day. We miss our friends. Almost four months is a long time to not see our Haiti friends. And, some we haven’t seen in even longer because they were out of the country post-quake. I’m excited to see them (HI!). We’re excited to go back to our church. That little church that meets under woven coconut fronds. We miss our dog. We’re just missing a lot right now, and that’s a great thing. It means we’re ready to head back and get back into things.

I’m starting to make lists and organize my brain. It seems to be that thing that helps me stay calm and sorted out. I just need to write it down. And, after almost four months there’s a lot of sorting to do. What do we leave, what do we take. It’s a bit easier this time because I know I’ll be back in about four months so there’s really a lot of things we can leave here until next time. Makes things a bit easier.

So, until then we’ll eagerly await departure day, and enjoy the last bit of time here.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

