All Things Baby

I know that there have been a lot of people praying for me and the pregnancy, especially with us traveling back to Haiti, so I thought I would take a minute to not only thank you, but give you a status update. I mean, really, lets face it – Babies are exciting.

We had a doctors appointment the week before we left to head back here. At my last appointment our doctor tried to listen for the heartbeat, but pre-warned me that we might not hear it just because it was easy for Baby to hide at the size that it was then. This time around though the minute she put the doppler on my belly we heard it loud and clear. I’ll be honest, I broke down crying. I had been having a bit of a hard time because I was 15 weeks and was right in that place where the morning sickness was pretty much gone, as were a lot of my early pregnancy symptoms, but it would still be several weeks until I would feel the baby moving. After having had a miscarriage that was a hard place to be in. I kept wondering if everything was okay, and just had to assume that it was because I hadn’t seen a sign that it was otherwise. Hearing that heartbeat was amazing. And I love the my doctor simply because she had a kleenex already in hand and told me to bawl away. She played around with the doppler for a few more minutes and pointed out the fact that she was having to play chase because Baby kept running away :)

At that appointment she got us all set up with everything we would need to pass on to the doctor here and we had a long chat about some of the things I might need to anticipate with being in a warmer climate, what medicines were safe for things like malaria and anything requiring antibiotics, and just how to look after myself in a life that can be stressful. Every time we walk out of an appointment with her we just feel so blessed. She’s such a gift from God. She understands our situation, has a heart for missions and is just so encouraging. This is one of those times where we can see God’s hand very clearly in things.

I wasn’t sure how I would do traveling and adjusting to the heat because I was still experiencing some nausea if I got overheated or overexerted myself. Well, the trip was great. I managed to get some good rest on the plane, and arriving in Haiti was fine. In fact, I’ve been feeling better in the last 5 days than I have the entire pregnancy. I was 16 weeks on Wednesday so I know there’s a chance that I’ve crossed that threshold, but really, it’s been a very noticeable difference. I have way more energy, I haven’t felt nauseous at all, am sleeping well for the most part and aside from some fat ankles for the last few days have been doing great. I’m not sure if it’s all the fresh air or what, but Haiti is agreeing with me :)

We want to thank you for your continued prayers for our family. We truly are seeing God’s hand and care for us so clearly now and it’s so exciting. We know that we don’t walk this journey alone and we’re happy that we can share the big and the little things with you. I’ll try to update you as Baby Rolling grows and things progress.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “All Things Baby

  1. So glad to hear you and baby are doing so well. What a blessing that you were in Canada and got to see a great doctor to help you prepare for pregnancy in Haiti. Before you know it, Olivia will be learning to change diapers!

Leave a Comment

