A First Time For Everything…

Today we did something completely new for our family. Chris and I had debated about this for a long time. Several years in fact.

You see, Chris likes things to be what they’re supposed to be. To be “real” if you will. Especially when it comes to people. He doesn’t like it when I dye my hair, no matter how much gray is popping up. He doesn’t like when I wear make up because he says I’m already beautiful. He’s okay with me shaving, thank goodness. He’s not a fan of tattoos or piercings either. He just likes things the way God intended.

So what did we do?

Well, Little Miss O got her first set of extensions put in today.

Getting started.

Halfway...

When I say that we’ve been debating over this for years, I literally mean years. Chris has been against it for a long time, but he’s not the one that has to take care of her hair. And I will be up front and honest, I am la-zee when it comes to doing her hair. It takes a lot of work and usually ends up with her crying at some point because her curl is so tight. No matter how much conditioner I put in it, there is always crying. And black hair, it needs attention. It can be very brittle, and without enough love it breaks. Also, lets all be honest, there’s a lot of judgement out there about taking care of hair. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had stares or comments about Olivia’s hair not being done. Often in Haiti it’s from friends and it’s done lovingly. I did one time have this really sweet lady in Walmart in Canada tell me that I needed oil it and braid it. It’s those times where I don’t even bother trying to explain that I was planning on doing it that night, but that our family schedule doesn’t revolve around my kids hair.

So yes, we’ve been debating. One thing that we do know and agree on, is that eventually we would like to put Olivia’s hair in girlie dreads. The issue is that it needs to grow out more before that’ll look cute on her. Because her hair is a lot of work, and because we want to protect it dreads are a great option. And, when she gets older she can choose whether she wants to keep them or not. Until then, we needed to do something.

Today Yvania spent about 6 hours braiding. Olivia and I have been talking about getting her “long hair” put in for over a week now. We were going to do it last week but she woke up Monday completely sick. She’s been really excited though. We had lots of chats about how she was going to need to sit for a long time and not cry. Because of past experience with not just me but also Yonese. I was sure there was going to be many melt downs, but you know what? My kid is a rock star! In 6 hours of sitting there was ONE major melt down and some minor whining about “it hurts”. And the end result?

Olivia LOVES long hair. The photo was taken pre-trimming and melting. And after seeing the picture, I think that was a good choice. No 3 year old should look that coy. Sigh. Just makes me wonder what kind of trouble we’ll be having in about 10 years. And up pop more gray hairs…

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

9 thoughts on “A First Time For Everything…

  1. It is so much fun watching your family grow! I’m with you and Olivia. Chris is a great guy but I learned in my week down there how stubborn he can be. I’m so glad you prevailed. And now I think you should talk him into braiding his hair ……… God bless you all!

    • Aww, thanks! Would you believe that Chris asked me to cut his hair just over a year ago so that it’s just long enough to put in a ponytail???!! I almost fell over when he asked. Though, he does still say that one of his retirement goals is to have Willie Nelson braids…

      • I did twists, I use a latch hook to tighten them. No products needed. Shampoo once in awhile and no conditioner as that keeps them from locking as well.

Leave a Comment

