Dear Olivia

I feel like the last couple days have been full of funny little moments with you, and I want to write them down before I forget.

Yesterday we found out you will in fact be getting a little brother. I know you don’t really understand this right now, and suspect that it’ll take a little while to settling even after he makes his appearance. Though, you do have some opinions about what you’ll be able to do with him when he gets here. Play dress up is on the top of the list. We’ll see how that works out for the two of you, though I can speak from experience with being the older sister – it has been known to happen, and there are probably going to be pictures taken at some point. Just sayin’.

Speaking of dress up… now that we know we don’t need all of those clothes you had when you were smaller, we spent some time going through them today so we could pass them on to our friends orphanage that just took in a sweet baby girl. You were “helping” me do this. It seemed like a good idea at the time. In reality it consisted of me going through the clothes, and you trying on shoes that were half the size of your feet, and leaving the room only to come back in clothes that almost required butter to get them off of you they were so tight. But, you insisted that they were your dresses and you should be able to wear them!

Today I asked you, as I have many times, what you think we should name the baby, though this time I asked specifically about what you thought we should name your little brother. As usual, your response was, of course, “Olivia.” I agree that it’s a great name, that’s why we gave it to you. Though, having more than one Olivia in the family may be a bit confusing, especially if one of them is not a girl. When I told you that Olivia was a name for a baby sister and that you would be getting a baby brother you disagreed with me. Maybe you know something we don’t? From that point on you proceeded to jump on me and the bed yelling, “Baby sister, baby sister, baby sister…” Non-stop. For about 5 minutes. I asked you why you told me you wanted a baby brother before and now you said you wanted a baby sister. It was then that you informed me that you in fact wanted one of each and when I told you that you would only be getting one you started counting to five. No baby girl, you are not getting 5. Or 2. Just one.

I’m thinking that maybe putting extensions in your hair has given you a new boost of confidence. You’ve been incredibly chatty and silly the last few days since we pumped you full of antibiotics. Maybe I just got used to you sleeping all day long and forgot how much you talked? The things you’re saying are really cracking me up, though I’m trying to follow the number one parenting rule – never let them see you laugh. It either hurts feelings or eggs on the comedy.

Case in point. As I was doing pay roll today you were flitting around the kitchen being silly. I said, “You’re a crazy kid. I’m just saying.” And you responded, without batting an eyelash, “You’re a crazy Mommy. I’m just saying.” I’m pretty sure you’re Dad and I are toast in a few years.

My favorite today though, was when you gave yourself up for playing with my “lipstick” which was really lip balm. After a couple hours of doing other things I looked at you and thought one of your eyebrows looked a bit skewed. Turns out you also played with my mascara. Nice. But, the best part was when you were getting ready for bed and I was eye level with you and noticed your other eyebrow looked funny. After a careful inspection and some interrogation it was revealed that in your make up application time today you also decided to give Daddy’s razor a whirl. And now you’re missing half an eyebrow.

Girl, you keep us laughing and wondering what you’ll come up with next. I hope it doesn’t involve shaving off any more hair though.

~Love Mom

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

