The BIG Reveal…

So, yesterday was a Port day. We had to take Anna to the airport, do some grocery shopping (I’m really liking the one trip a month and menu plan deal, btw), did some hardware purchasing, had some lunch, and…oh, had a doctors appointment.

Yesterday we found out that Baby Rolling is in fact… (drumroll please)… A BOY!

Yes, we had a Little Miss, and now we have a Little Mister.

I’ll be honest, when the doctor found those little parts we were a bit surprised. I think we had talked so much about having another girl so Olivia would have a sister etc, that we were almost confident it would be a girl. We had talked and knew we would be happy either way, but if you’ve asked Chris the question recently his response was, “I want another girl.” It was mostly because he remembers what kind of little boy he was and wasn’t sure if he was up for that. Oh, God has a sense of humour, that’s for sure :) We are, though, very happy. It’s just a change in our brains that is taking place. When the doctor said, “Oh, there we are. You’re having a boy,” we were pretty quiet, but when we got out to the car I asked Chris how he was feeling and his response was, “I’m happy! It’s great news!” then he proceeded to phone his parents and fill them in. So, it’s all good. I guess I just won’t have to deal with two little girls with hair needs and nail polish obsessions.

What does Olivia think of all this? Well, in the car on the way down through town I asked her what she thought she would do with her little brother and she said, “A little brother?” I confirmed. “A little brother to play dress up with?” Yes, you may be able to get away with that, though it may take some bribery. Then we went through the list of all the things she could do with a little brother. Things like, play outside, help daddy in the yard, help mommy cook, color, play cars… “Play cars? YES!” Maybe she’s not such a princess after all :)

The ultrasound yesterday was much more fun than last months. Little Mister is a very active one, which I had already figured out in the last week. I’ve been feeling him moving for the last month and a half, but he’s getting bigger and the movements are more pronounced. The other day I went to lay down and read and as soon as I got settled I felt him booting and jabbing me every minute or so. Watching him on the ultra sound confirmed that. It was so fun to see his little face and to see him rolling around, moving his hands and feet, and to be able to feel it at the same time. It just sort of brought everything together.

Things are going really well. All his measurements are good, his heart beat is good, his lungs look good, everything looks good.

The crazy thing is… I’m 22 weeks pregnant, no question. He, however is measuring 23.5 weeks. When we told the doctor I was about 8 1/2 pounds when I was born and Chris was definitely over 8 lbs as well he said, “Both of you were over 8 lbs? Yes, you’re having a big baby!” Chris’ mom later confirmed that Chris was in fact over 9 lbs. Fabulous. It’ll be such a big difference holding a baby that big when Olivia was only 5lbs, 4oz when we brought her home at 2 weeks old. He might be double her size at birth!

So, that’s our news!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “The BIG Reveal…

  1. Dress-up with brothers is so much fun! My sister and I used to do it with our little brother. We’d dress him up in our doll clothes – he had no problem with it, and we have some great pictures to pull out at his wedding one day! So happy for you guys!!!!

  2. Congrats!! Can’t wait to see Miss O with her little brother!!
    We get to find out the gender in mid March (but won’t get the results for a couple weeks)

    Praying for a healthy & safe arrival of your little Mister!!

Leave a Comment

