Fatigue Net

Today was a “Port Day”. Lots of things to do, and much of it was accomplished.

  • This morning was a random mash of trying to run around and get things ready to go, feed the kid, make sure she had the right shoes on, make sure work was all organized for the day and that Yonese was good to go.
  • The drive into town was nice. It was nice because Haiti has moved up to a new level of development, at least in our area and most of the way to Port…

Yes, those are lines and guardrails that you are seeing. It feels “other worldly”. I also love that the flash at dusk really shows off the dust on the dash nicely.

  • On the way to town we had no need for the radio – we have a three year old. A three year old who loves to sing and talk. Several times we were stifling laughter because of the things that were coming from the back seat. There was a good smattering of “Tomorrow” from Annie and other songs. She was even making up songs, some of the lyrics being quite interesting. I won’t post them here because it would definitely embarrass her when she’s well into her teen years, and you might question our parenting. (Disclaimer: we are good parents, but she is three and for some reason gets stuck on certain things and we have no idea why.)
  • The trip to town was good until we heard “I’m yucky” from the back seat, which reminded me I forgot to dose Olivia with Gravol before we left home. She got dosed, but was also given a ziploc bag – that got used just as we were about 5 minutes from our destination. She was pro with it and there was next to no mess for the first time. She was also singing “Tomorrow” again within a few minutes – a sure sign that the “yucky” had passed.
  • I had to have a glucose tolerance test this morning. Never fun, but this one wasn’t terrible. Chris was able to get new tires put on the car just around the corner while I read and wrote a shopping list.
  • Visited the new GIANT (that’s it’s name) grocery store in Petionville. That will probably be the last time. It’s crazy expensive compared to what we pay elsewhere, and elsewhere is expensive. We went, we saw, we won’t go again any time soon. Chris was actually crabby after we left. For like, the next two hours.
  • We had to do several errands today, some of which meant driving downtown to different offices so our police officer friend could meet with a couple of people. At one point we had to get from point A to point B and he suggested that we take a different route because it was faster, and the following conversation took place in our car:

Friend: Are you scared to drive through this part of town. It’s not a good area?

Chris: Do you have your gun with you?

Friend: Yes.

Chris: Then I’m not scared.

These are the conversations you don’t ever expect to have in your own car, but then when we do I have thoughts that resemble the “We’re not in Kansas anymore” thing, and then I realize that I’m really adapted because they seem normal. It’s kind of like the time we were driving with another upper class friend on the highway around sundown when kidnapping was rampant. He asked Chris to move his knee and reached over, opened the glove box and took out his 9mm and plunked it between the front seats. Don’t worry, we don’t hang out with thugs, we’re just not in Kansas anymore.

  • The blue truck is finally back from being repaired and this time seems to be all working. I’m happy about this because it means we can catch up on some follow up stuff that needs to be done with the truck.
  • Came home to a clean house and laundry done. Yonese rocks my world.

And now I”m going to go unpack the few groceries that we did bring home and start cooking dinner. In closing here’s a fun pic of Olivia a couple weeks ago.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Fatigue Net

  1. So now that there are lines, do people actually stay on their side of the road? It looks like a totally different place!

  2. Well gollee, Leslie, where do you normally do your shopping? First off, you need to ask for a discount at the cash register at GIANT… ask for Mr. Willy… one of the Filippino managers who is usually supervising the entire row of cashiers. That gives you a 5% discount off of every item. Having shopped in most of the supermarkets around town myself, I can tell you you’ll be hard pressed to find the same stuff at a lower price. Now, you may not buy the same stuff. GIANT does cater to the NGO crowd, and has a lot of imported food. You may also notice that it is a lot cleaner than most supermarkets and with an indoor multi-level garage, it has good security.

    My second comment concerns your driving around with an armed police officer in the front seat. Is this really necessary? I’ve been living in Haiti since 1979 and am always a bit upset by paranoid folks such as your husband seems to be. You are of course unnecessarily (in my opinion) frightening your readers, many of whom probably already mistakenly assume that Haiti is FAR more dangerous than, say, Miami or Washington, DC.

    You do write a good blog, Leslie, and I compliment you on most of what I have read. I will admit to being somewhat miffed by your GIANT market comments… which made me a bit crabby… but hey, my son-in-law is one of the owners. I can assure you that he and his partner put in longggg hours to create a positive shopping experience, and frankly yours is the first negative word I’ve heard.

    Lance Durban

  3. I am disoriented, am I seeing this correctly? The road has shoulders, yellow center do not pass stripe, guard rails! What next? Rules of the Road.

Leave a Comment

