Tuesday update

So, it’s been over a week since the last post, and a busy week it was!

We said good-bye to our visitors on Saturday. I have to be honest, and I’m not meaning to offend anyone because we’ve really enjoyed all of our Vision Trips, but these guys were fun! Seriously. There was a lot of laughing, encouragement and all around fun had by all. Part of the fun was that they were all friends and from the same circle back home, so they had a familiarity which we don’t often get as most of our visitors meet for the first time when we pick them up at the airport. They are Korean Americans so we also had a multi-cultural thing going on here which I think was very cool for our staff to see and experience. It was such a funny mix of professions too – one was a hairstylist (that was a nice treat), one a contractor/real estate agent, one a chiropractor (that was a nice treat as well), and one an arms dealer. Yeah, we thought they were joking when they told us the last one too, but he really is an arms dealer – a legal one that supplies to the military etc :) See, we tell you life here is never boring!

So, the last week was good and busy as it always is when we have visitors in. We’re at the point where we’ve had so many visitors that Olivia keeps asking when the next ones are going to arrive! Poor kid.

This week is what I like to call “regroup” time. You know, getting our bearings, attacking the to do lists and just getting our balance again. And, we do have a lot to do, because…. (are you ready for it???) … we have more people arriving! Well, one person. Barry, our new volunteer is arriving Monday so between now and then we’ll be getting the round house ready for him to live in. It’s mostly there, but some things need to be moved around etc to get ready not only for him, but also the family that is coming for the summer to help out while Chris is gone this summer. We also have a student from Duke University and her husband arriving in a couple weeks. She’ll be here starting a two year research project for her doctorate. It’s an exciting project that will hopefully be very helpful in the biosand filter world.

In the midst of all that we’re getting ready to hand stuff over to Barry for the summer and getting things ready for Bryan and Kelly to arrive I need to move some stuff up from storage and get it washed and ready for Little Mister. I do not want to be arriving back to Haiti later this summer with a tired toddler and newborn and nothing set up and ready. My goal is that I just need to put sheets on the bed and call it done.

On a different note, we had a doctors appointment yesterday. Little Mister is doing great, though really, he’s not so little any more. I struggle to wrap my brain around that. I keep envisioning him as this little being that’s only about 8 inches long, but that is no longer the case. I’m 31 weeks tomorrow and he’s measuring 33-34 weeks in everything. And the doctor said he’s already about 4lbs. To put that in perspective, Olivia was 5lb, 4oz when we brought her home at two weeks old. To think that the baby in my stomach is almost the same size that she was at birth is crazy to me. Chris keeps saying he wants a 15 pounder, but I don’t see him lining up to squeeze it out. My mom reminded me last night that babies generally gain about a pound a week in their last month, so pretty much Junior will come out ready for college.

Okay, time to get to work!

Have a great week,

Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Tuesday update

Leave a Comment

