Seriously??!?

This morning Olivia was sleeping a bit late. We’ve decided to just let her sleep and wake on her own rather than getting her up so we can all eat breakfast together. It’s really been helping because she’s less likely to have a mid-afternoon melt down. Naps are just out of the question with her now, so something needed to change.

So, as Chris and I had breakfast together before he left for a day in Port we spent some time talking through things needing our attention this week. It’s once again a busy week. We have a new volunteer here, and we have a couple arriving on Wednesday that will be here for a month. Ashely is a Duke University student starting her doctorate thesis project and we’re providing some research assistance.

On top of all that stuff to move through and get ready for Liv and I are scheduled to head back to Canada next week. And before then I have a bunch of stuff to cover so the guys can manage my admin stuff in my absence. As we talked about some of that this morning the shocking realization hit me – we are at the less than two month countdown until the baby comes. By the time I leave next week I’ll be 6 weeks until my due date.

Thinking about it makes me excited, but it also mixes with a good dose of fear and anxiety. Really? Only about 6 weeks?? Seriously?!?! When did that happen?

In a short time our family of three will become 4. There will be a new person with a new personality in the mix. I’ll have different demands on me as a mom. Our family will be different. A good different, but different none the less. I find myself wondering what Little Mister is going to look like and hoping he has all his fingers and toes. What will his personality be like. I know what his parents are like and part of me is excited, the other part of me scared. We can both be pretty intense when we want to be. Throw in there a sister that has her own intense personality and wow about that mix.

I won’t lie, I’m looking forward to being in Canada this summer. It’s been so long (4 years) since we’ve been able to take a normal summer break. It’s one of our favorite places to be and one of our favorite times of the year to be there. My parents know that the time away from Chris for the first part of our time there will be hard and they’re making an effort to plan stuff that they know Olivia and I will enjoy. I worry about Olivia a bit because she misses her Daddy when he goes to Port for the day. I know she doesn’t do well with long separations, but at this point we just have to make due. We’ll be able to go back to school where she can see her friends and we’ve signed her up for swimming lessons which I know she’ll love. I’m hoping that some of those things will help the time pass quickly for her.

So yes, things are coming quick. It feels exciting and overwhelming at the same time. I think it hits me the most when I look around and realize that the next time I get off a plan in Haiti I’ll have another child with me, that there will be another baby in Olivia’s room, that the next time I see our workers my stomach won’t be so huge and I’ll have a little guy in my arms.

Oh. My.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Seriously??!?

Leave a Comment

